android
  #1  
Old 05-27-2008, 10:28 PM
Phase Phase is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 17
Default 1st - 2nd Gen?

I'm going on holiday for two weeks next week, in which I am very painfully absent of a mp3 (other than a PDA). I think I decided on the Zune, I like the wi-fi feature. I think I have decided on Zune, as Creative have been supposedly crumbling, and I would like something other than an iPod.

I don't have a huge pool of money, and they are more expensive since I am buying from the UK. I'm not sure what I really want though, 80GB is a lot, and I would probably only use 20 GB excluding movies - I have never really had a video player. I thought about the 8GB but at the moment my collection on my computer is 6GB, but then I would only have 2GB if I wanted to stick movies in. Two movies?

30GB is a fair amount, but what's the difference really between the 1st, and 2nd generation?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-27-2008, 10:31 PM
sumx4182's Avatar
sumx4182 sumx4182 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 2,194
Default

the interface of the 1st gen can be updated with the 2nd gen's new interface...so that's a wash. With the second gen, you get the touch "squircle" navigation pad that is typically love it or hate it with users and you get the 80gb HD...that's basically it...
__________________
Very cool ABi threads that you should enjoy: Demographic|Useless Knowledge|Guess That Movie|Currently Listening to...|Post Your Pic|What is it? game|More difficult What is it? game|
If you feel your thread is worthy...PM me!
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-27-2008, 11:17 PM
Phase Phase is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 17
Default

Another question, if I purchase a Zune 80 from a UK retailer, it means it is imported from the US, correct? This would only mean I wouldn't be able to use the marketplace, but when it is implemented in the UK, I will be able to?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-28-2008, 04:42 AM
sumx4182's Avatar
sumx4182 sumx4182 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 2,194
Default

Marketplace is based on the Zune software only I believe, so it really has nothing to do with where the Zune is purchased from. This is my belief and I cannot really confirm...
__________________
Very cool ABi threads that you should enjoy: Demographic|Useless Knowledge|Guess That Movie|Currently Listening to...|Post Your Pic|What is it? game|More difficult What is it? game|
If you feel your thread is worthy...PM me!
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-28-2008, 08:54 AM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phase View Post
Another question, if I purchase a Zune 80 from a UK retailer, it means it is imported from the US, correct? This would only mean I wouldn't be able to use the marketplace, but when it is implemented in the UK, I will be able to?
You are correct in thinking that. There is a easy hack to get the marketplace working though. To apply the workaround, find the “Regional and Language Options” settings in your Control Panel. If you are a Vista user you can get to this by searching for “regional” in the Start menu. Under the “Locations” tab, select “United States” as the country. then click "Apply". If you launch the Zune software, you should be in business.
__________________
Players: Zune 30GB (Music), iPod Touch 8GB 2g (Apps/Podcasts), Zune HD 32GB (sold to brother)
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-28-2008, 08:58 AM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,059
Default

Another difference between the two generations is that generation 2 has absolutely no equalizer.

As for the registry hack this will need to be done on every computer that the Zune is connected to.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 05-28-2008, 09:44 AM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

The EQ is not really a needed feature though. I have never used it on my Zune 30.
__________________
Players: Zune 30GB (Music), iPod Touch 8GB 2g (Apps/Podcasts), Zune HD 32GB (sold to brother)
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 05-28-2008, 10:37 AM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,059
Default

I know but some people swear by it so I think this needs to be pointed out. As for me, no matter what DAP I use, the EQ is always turned off.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 05-28-2008, 10:49 AM
Phase Phase is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cruleworld View Post
You are correct in thinking that. There is a easy hack to get the marketplace working though. To apply the workaround, find the “Regional and Language Options” settings in your Control Panel. If you are a Vista user you can get to this by searching for “regional” in the Start menu. Under the “Locations” tab, select “United States” as the country. then click "Apply". If you launch the Zune software, you should be in business.
I tried to access zune originals to see if it worked, when I changed the location settings but I got this error:

https://zuneoriginals.net/BSTSite/er...s/IPError.aspx

The same won't happen with the Marketplace? Do I need to restart or something?
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 05-28-2008, 11:12 AM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

You probably will not be able to access the Zune originals site. The marketplace should work fine with the hack posted above. The Zune originals site is based on your IP address, Not the region setting. I will not guarantee the Marketplace to work though since I have no way of trying it.
__________________
Players: Zune 30GB (Music), iPod Touch 8GB 2g (Apps/Podcasts), Zune HD 32GB (sold to brother)

Last edited by Cruleworld; 05-28-2008 at 11:24 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 05-28-2008, 04:53 PM
Ricardo Dawkins Ricardo Dawkins is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 665
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phase View Post
I tried to access zune originals to see if it worked, when I changed the location settings but I got this error:

https://zuneoriginals.net/BSTSite/er...s/IPError.aspx

The same won't happen with the Marketplace? Do I need to restart or something?
Google UltraReach. download and install it to view the www.zuneoriginals.net website using Internet Explorer.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 05-28-2008, 04:58 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

That may get him to the site, but I bet they still won't ship to the UK.
__________________
Players: Zune 30GB (Music), iPod Touch 8GB 2g (Apps/Podcasts), Zune HD 32GB (sold to brother)
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 05-29-2008, 04:10 PM
Phase Phase is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 17
Default

They do have 'resellers' in the UK, that source the products from the US - http://www.zunethings.co.uk/zune-2-c...e4a9f9a7139d3c they are significantly more expensive. Everything in the UK is expensive anyway.

There is also ebay but I have never bought from ebay ever, and least of all an expensive item like this.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 05-29-2008, 04:13 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

Have you tried amazon.co.uk or other retailers in your area?
__________________
Players: Zune 30GB (Music), iPod Touch 8GB 2g (Apps/Podcasts), Zune HD 32GB (sold to brother)
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 05-29-2008, 06:54 PM
Phase Phase is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 17
Default

They all seem similar price, this is so disappointing, and the lack of support. I don't want to go for an iPod, grah!
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 05-29-2008, 07:00 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

This one seems pretty cheap. How much are you willing to spend?
__________________
Players: Zune 30GB (Music), iPod Touch 8GB 2g (Apps/Podcasts), Zune HD 32GB (sold to brother)
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 05-29-2008, 09:07 PM
Phase Phase is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 17
Default

£110 is cheap, but then my only concern is the lack of warranty - are they likely to break? What about import duty and VAT (VAT = £129.25)? My budget I think is flexible, according to what I get. I look at the 80GB, and I get a significantly greater amount of storage.

I would wait for 2009, but I have a holiday in two months (not two weeks as stated), and some of them are long trips.

It states on the zunethings website:

Quote:
Warranty
ZuneThings will honour the full 12 month warranty by repairing or replacing the Zune should anything go wrong.
Is warranty worth £50-80?

Argh, I am frustrated with Microsoft.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 05-30-2008, 08:10 AM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

There should be a 1 year warranty offered by Microsoft. I have never really had A Zune 80 so I don't fully know what their durability is.
__________________
Players: Zune 30GB (Music), iPod Touch 8GB 2g (Apps/Podcasts), Zune HD 32GB (sold to brother)
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 05-30-2008, 10:56 AM
Phase Phase is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cruleworld View Post
There should be a 1 year warranty offered by Microsoft. I have never really had A Zune 80 so I don't fully know what their durability is.
I had got the impression that I wouldn't get warranty, or does that just mean I would have to send it to the US if it breaks?

Edit: I actually had a dream about the Zune, I had to charge it up, I put the American plug into the shaver point and it started to charge. hehe.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 05-30-2008, 12:38 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

oh that's true shipping it over the border may be a problem. I think that does void your warranty.
__________________
Players: Zune 30GB (Music), iPod Touch 8GB 2g (Apps/Podcasts), Zune HD 32GB (sold to brother)
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 AM.