android
  #1  
Old 04-21-2008, 12:12 AM
jceac jceac is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 37
Default UMS vs. MTP

I know this has been addressed - probably many times - before but what are the advantages/disadvantages of changing to ums and what are the advantages/disadvantages of mtp?

I've been using mtp and i really have no complaints but people here (and other forums) seem to prefer ums.

The fact that the P2 is recognized as a removable drive seems useless because you can drag and drop in mtp as well? Is there a reason why ums is better in this regard?

I know about the playlist issue with ums, and i know about the cross platform support, lyrics display and dictionary options (all of which are useless to me anyway, imo) for the korean firmware in ums, but is there anything else?

Point me towards the appropriate threads please if there are any.

THANKS!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-21-2008, 03:13 AM
Doom1468 Doom1468 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 224
Default

No, that's pretty much it.
I personally prefer MTP, as the IDV3 Tag-Sorting is convenient.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-21-2008, 05:18 AM
KiDD.VANiTY's Avatar
KiDD.VANiTY KiDD.VANiTY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Podunk, USA
Posts: 118
Default

I prefer UMS as it allows me to sort my music by folders;
and my wallpapers by folders as well.

I also found that transferring music was easier in UMS,
but that's just me.
__________________
Samsung YP-P2|Gregory-V2.
[r.i.p Greg-V1 ; you were a good man]
Microsoft Zune 8GB | Alastair
Samsung YP-P3 | Dervish
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-21-2008, 05:20 AM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,605
Default

You have to be in UMS to use your mp3-player on USB-HOST Hifi systems, to use it on MAC, Linux.
In UMS you also have Tags navigation so there is no advantage to be in MTP
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-21-2008, 05:33 AM
Doom1468 Doom1468 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 224
Default

Well on the P2, yes, but on the K3, it's either tags or no tags.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-21-2008, 08:37 AM
jceac jceac is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 37
Default

kidd: i've always copied my music from my computer as albums in different folders though. is that any different?

lebellium: i only use windows so no use for cross platform support. what do you mean by tags navigation?
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-21-2008, 07:42 PM
Itt's Avatar
Itt Itt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 128
Default

When you go to music then artist, itt sorts the artists by how the files are tagged, not by what folders they are in. And this is the same whether you are in MTP or UMS.

An example: I have a "Greatest Hits" album. The artist was with two or three bands, plus solo. If the songs have the names of the various bands for the artist tag, the album gets broken up: three or four artists, with the same album under each "artist" with only the songs for that particular "artist" when I open the album. If I want itt all together, I have to re-tag and change them all to the same artist.

The only place folders make a difference, is in the file browser.

I still prefer to organize my music into folders though, itt just makes more sense to me, and makes changing out music easier if they are not all dumped together in one folder.

UMS makes drag and drop easier in Windows explorer. If you use MTP, you will get an error just about any time you drop a file onto the P2. Sure, you can just click ok, and usually the file actually will work (even though the error told you itt wouldn't), but this gets old after a while!

The only reason I could see for keeping MTP, would be if you use DRM files. I don't.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 04-22-2008, 03:43 PM
mrmac mrmac is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Hmm.. I have an MTP player, but dragging and dropping goes perfect.
It will give an error message when I try to put an unsupported file on the P2, but that makes sense, doesn't it?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 04-22-2008, 08:17 PM
Archangel Archangel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmac View Post
Hmm.. I have an MTP player, but dragging and dropping goes perfect.
It will give an error message when I try to put an unsupported file on the P2, but that makes sense, doesn't it?
Are you running Vista? i heard from another thread that you can drag'n'drop through Vista.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 04-23-2008, 02:55 AM
sassafras's Avatar
sassafras sassafras is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 1,590
Default

You can drag and drop on XP if you have the latest WMP. The point is that it's still not a drive to the system, so third party apps that don't understand the MTP API can't talk to your device. I use a program to change the loudness of my mp3's, and I only really use it when they turn out to be too quiet, or loud, etc. It's nice to be able to change them direct from the P2, and not have to take them off the device and re-transfer them. Try that in MTP mode.
__________________
"Changed my mind so much I cant even trust it
My mind changed me so much I cant even trust myself"
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 04-23-2008, 04:11 PM
ivanchich ivanchich is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 22
Default

can you switch back to MTP if you donīt like UMS?
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 04-23-2008, 07:33 PM
kameko kameko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanchich View Post
can you switch back to MTP if you donīt like UMS?
of course.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 04-23-2008, 08:15 PM
Itt's Avatar
Itt Itt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmac View Post
Hmm.. I have an MTP player, but dragging and dropping goes perfect.
It will give an error message when I try to put an unsupported file on the P2, but that makes sense, doesn't it?
Are you sure that all of the ones itt is telling you are "unsupported" actually are? I know that when I was on MTP several times I got that error message on files that I was sure should work. Clicked to transfer anyway, and they worked just fine.

I have Vista and WMP11. Vista doesn't know what will and will not work on the P2, so itt just defaults to "That won't work." I finally got tired of seeing this every time I tried to transfer file that I knew would work!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 PM.