android
  #1  
Old 04-13-2008, 02:06 AM
skudave skudave is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 11
Default Volume memory feature ?

I can't seem to find an option to keep the volume at the level last set before powering off. That's something that pisses me off..
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-13-2008, 02:36 AM
iLLuSionS iLLuSionS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 163
Default

its a safety measure. they dont want you to go deaf if you have your volume at 30 and ur friend wears your earphones and get owned.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-13-2008, 02:42 AM
kameko kameko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 156
Default

i dont think its a safety measure at all. thats what the "volume limit" setting is for. it annoys the hell out of me because i also use the p2 in my car with my iriver fm transmitter. to get decent volume i have to crank the p2 to at least 22-25 volume but every time i leave and come back the volume gets reset again. ridiculous.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-13-2008, 12:32 PM
Warhawk's Avatar
Warhawk Warhawk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kameko View Post
i dont think its a safety measure at all. thats what the "volume limit" setting is for. it annoys the hell out of me because i also use the p2 in my car with my iriver fm transmitter. to get decent volume i have to crank the p2 to at least 22-25 volume but every time i leave and come back the volume gets reset again. ridiculous.
Yes, it annoys me too, I used to use fm transmitter and would use the same levels as you.
Then I turned it off and it would be down to 15 every time.

Should at least have an option to turn that off under settings.
__________________
Current Digital Audio Player setup:
Samsung YP-P2 8gb-> JVC FX33 Marshmallows
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-13-2008, 02:07 PM
iLLuSionS iLLuSionS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kameko View Post
i dont think its a safety measure at all. thats what the "volume limit" setting is for. it annoys the hell out of me because i also use the p2 in my car with my iriver fm transmitter. to get decent volume i have to crank the p2 to at least 22-25 volume but every time i leave and come back the volume gets reset again. ridiculous.
volume limit only stops you from going over 15 when the player is on.
the safety measure i am talking about is "when turning on", would you like your siblings or friends play a prank on you, having it at volume 30, turn it off and then once u put your earphones in your ears, u get blasted? tats what the "safety measure" is about.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-13-2008, 06:37 PM
kameko kameko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 156
Default

"volume limit only stops you from going over 15 when the player is on."

...and thats what the volume limit is for. a safety measure. if you have the volume limit on then you are "safe" since it keeps the volume to a max of 15. the automatic resetting of volume is NOT the safety measure. its just samsung being dumb.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-13-2008, 07:31 PM
sassafras's Avatar
sassafras sassafras is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 1,590
Default

Or trying to protect the life of the player. It's hard turning an amp up all the way from a powered off state. The moment right after running current through a device is the hardest, that's why lightbulbs only burn out right when you turn them on (sort of).
__________________
"Changed my mind so much I cant even trust it
My mind changed me so much I cant even trust myself"
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 04-13-2008, 07:43 PM
skudave skudave is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sassafras View Post
Or trying to protect the life of the player. It's hard turning an amp up all the way from a powered off state. The moment right after running current through a device is the hardest, that's why lightbulbs only burn out right when you turn them on (sort of).

I can't imagine that being a logical reason to omit the feature. I know for a fact my little Samsung YP-55 had the option, and that thing's like 5yrs old. This better be fixed in another firmware, it's just silly.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 PM.