android
  #1  
Old 05-23-2007, 09:55 PM
turbov21 turbov21 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
Default Shaker gets props

I ostensibly bought the Shaker for my mom -- earphones give her a headache -- and was setting up up last night:

1. It's a bit tricky to get the bottom cap open the first time, but one you do it's much easier.

2. Copying music is as easy as dragging and dropping files (wish the same was true for my Express).

3. The controls are dead simple and effective.

4. The speaker is pretty decent. It's no iPod, but it's easily as good as my Megxon M500's speakers.

I would definitely recommend the Shaker to anyone who wanted an MP3 player (for kids or adults) on the cheap.

Last edited by turbov21; 05-29-2007 at 09:59 AM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-29-2007, 12:08 PM
kennyj kennyj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 303
Default

Definitely a cool little toy for the kids, if nothing else. I'd love to see SanDisk do more with the concept of simple players running on SD cards; something closer to the Express's size would be awesome.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-30-2007, 09:33 PM
Javier78's Avatar
Javier78 Javier78 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 94
Default

I was wondering if there was a way to turn the 'shake' feature off. Is it possible somehow?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-31-2007, 11:18 AM
kennyj kennyj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 303
Default

Nope. It does what it does, and that's it.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-30-2007, 09:57 AM
Ace12's Avatar
Ace12 Ace12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 44
Default

Can't turn the shake feature off, thats why you have to hold the play / pause button down to activate it. If you don't hold the button down you can shake it all day and it wont skip.
__________________
Ace12

"Where there is data, it shall be manipulated."
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-24-2007, 01:03 AM
classic85's Avatar
classic85 classic85 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbov21 View Post
It's no iPod
__________________
"Friendship always benefits, love sometimes injures." Seneca
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-16-2007, 04:45 PM
ricocarlos ricocarlos is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 52
Default song skip problems

I've heard other owners mention this: the player skips sometimes. We've got two of them and love them, but sometimes songs skip. Is there any known fix for this?
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-17-2007, 01:00 AM
kennyj kennyj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 303
Default

I didn't even know it was an issue. How good are the songs you're using? I've seen a number of different MP3 players skip when using poorly-encoded tracks (ie. crap downloaded from Limewire.)
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-04-2008, 07:12 AM
sagittarii sagittarii is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 16
Default My daughter's second Shaker skips

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricocarlos View Post
I've heard other owners mention this: the player skips sometimes. We've got two of them and love them, but sometimes songs skip. Is there any known fix for this?
I bought a Shaker for my 4 year old daughter and she loves it. After awhile it eventually did skip while playing some songs. I tried several things....recoding the track(s), reformatting and reloading the card, all tracks are in 128k.....problem persisted..........tech support ended up shipping a repacement player and card. This was good for several months and now the new player is starting to skip again occaionally. Would be nice if there was a fix for this.

Just found the following. Will have to check the format of my daughters 512k card.........
http://forums.sandisk.com/sansa/boar...&thread.id=169
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-08-2008, 05:21 PM
ricocarlos ricocarlos is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 52
Default skipping

I did find that with a fully charged battery the problem would go away.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 01-26-2008, 08:19 AM
beteks's Avatar
beteks beteks is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 515
Default

I would buy one just to play music out loud.
__________________
LG Optimus L9 + Google Music + 64GBsdxc + JVC Marshmallow
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 03-15-2008, 08:01 AM
sansaguy's Avatar
sansaguy sansaguy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sagittarii View Post
I bought a Shaker for my 4 year old daughter and she loves it. After awhile it eventually did skip while playing some songs. I tried several things....recoding the track(s), reformatting and reloading the card, all tracks are in 128k.....problem persisted..........tech support ended up shipping a repacement player and card. This was good for several months and now the new player is starting to skip again occaionally. Would be nice if there was a fix for this.

Just found the following. Will have to check the format of my daughters 512k card.........
http://forums.sandisk.com/sansa/boar...&thread.id=169
just a shot in the dark here sagittarii, but I was reading through this thread and have an idea?. I own an e260 and had problems playing tracks, then reformatted both my player and memory card the SAME way...FAT. Problem solved and has never returned. Check the Shaker's docs to see how the internal drive is formatted (or call Sandisk tech support), and format your memory card accordingly.

Hope this helps.
__________________
How I Roll:
Sansa e250v1 Rockboxed refurb
16GB microSDHC
Sansa e260v1 Rockboxed 8GB microsdhc
Sansa Fuze 8GB 16GB microSDHC
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 04-01-2008, 04:36 PM
Hillshum's Avatar
Hillshum Hillshum is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sansaguy View Post
just a shot in the dark here sagittarii, but I was reading through this thread and have an idea?. I own an e260 and had problems playing tracks, then reformatted both my player and memory card the SAME way...FAT. Problem solved and has never returned. Check the Shaker's docs to see how the internal drive is formatted (or call Sandisk tech support), and format your memory card accordingly.

Hope this helps.
the shaker has only the SD card, no internal memory
__________________
"We write lousy programs for a living, and make awesome DAP firmwares as a hobby"
-Linus Nielsen Feltzing, Rockbox Co-Founder and Developer.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.