android
  #1  
Old 03-16-2008, 02:16 PM
artwork artwork is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Default Does AV out cable work as audio line out?

I want to connect my D2 to the Aux input on my stereo. I was wondering if I could use the AV out cable as an audio line out, but does the AV out only work in video playback mode, or does it also work when playing music? I would be grateful if anyone who actually has an AV out cable could let me know.

Thanks.
CH
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-16-2008, 02:29 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

No, unfortunately not. The cable only works in video mode, and it's no "true" line-out after all.

It's quite the useless thing in my opinion, especially since video is limited to 320x240.

The headphone-out is as good a line-out as any, though. At volume level 50 (without any EQ or BBE) it works fine as a "fake" line-out, without any distortion.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-16-2008, 02:42 PM
artwork artwork is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Many thanks - no need to bother getting a AV cable then. I am using the headphone out at the moment, but it is a bit annoying to have to keep turning the volume down when I want to use headphones.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-28-2008, 11:31 AM
eViLrAcEr's Avatar
eViLrAcEr eViLrAcEr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artwork View Post
I want to connect my D2 to the Aux input on my stereo. I was wondering if I could use the AV out cable as an audio line out, but does the AV out only work in video playback mode, or does it also work when playing music? I would be grateful if anyone who actually has an AV out cable could let me know.

Thanks.
CH
u can use something like this

http://cgi.ebay.com/3-5mm-Stereo-mal...QQcmdZViewItem




i suppose it will work, and u can find this in almost any small electrical store for a very cheap price and $0.99 is expensive for this(!) i bought it for $0.25 n i use it to get output from my pc to my stereo, then u can use any 2X RCA female to 2X RCA female and plug it in ur stereo
__________________
Finally buying CX300 IIs!
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-25-2010, 11:39 PM
sergiomc sergiomc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Hi
If I connect my cowon d2+ using the headphone connector to my stereo (maybe using an AV cable RCA: red and white).
Is it safe? I'm worried because, after I did this operation before with another mp3 player (Sansa PLayer), after a few days, the sound failed and the sansa never worked again.

I love my Cowon D2+, so please, let me know if it is safe.

SergioMC
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-25-2010, 11:40 PM
sergiomc sergiomc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eViLrAcEr View Post
u can use something like this

http://cgi.ebay.com/3-5mm-Stereo-mal...QQcmdZViewItem




i suppose it will work, and u can find this in almost any small electrical store for a very cheap price and $0.99 is expensive for this(!) i bought it for $0.25 n i use it to get output from my pc to my stereo, then u can use any 2X RCA female to 2X RCA female and plug it in ur stereo

Hi , one question, what is the difference between connecting directely and using this one??

SergioMC
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 PM.