android
  #1  
Old 03-03-2008, 02:02 PM
natabus's Avatar
natabus natabus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 6
Default

Greetings. I didn't see a similar problem covered in the FAQ, or on a forum search, I hope this isn't old hat.

I have a E270R. (I verified it is V 1 via firmware #, and [R]hapsody via available USB options, in the player's settings -> info section)

I thought I would give the Rockbox firmware a try, and so started following the install directions sepecific to the e200R's found here:

http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/vie...0RInstallation

I hit my snag at step 4. Step 3 seemed to happen as planed (Hold switch + select during usb plugin to force manufacture mode), and My windows XP informed me that there was a problem with an unknown USB device. It did NOT prompt me to supply a driver, so I went to Device Manager, and found the Unknown USB device in the list (which remained there so long as I continued to hold Select) but when I pointed it at the downloaded driver files contained in the zip " e200-manufac-driver.zip" Windows informed me that that driver was not for my hardware.

I tried loading the driver via a right click on the included INF file and selecting "install", but the next time I connected it in manufacture mode, I got the same unknown device behavior. I also tried forcing the driver to load by updating the device manager's entry when the player is connected in normal mode (and says mass storage device rather than unknown device) still no dice.

Any ideas?

Solved the above by choosing a different USB port. This time, it re-detected and prompted for the driver just fine. I was able to get into manufacture mode and load the Rockbox firmware. Now I get to play!

Last edited by advcomp2019; 03-03-2008 at 05:36 PM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-03-2008, 05:06 PM
herefornow's Avatar
herefornow herefornow is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ohio usa
Posts: 74
Default

For ports that once recognized a drive but mysteriously don't. Many have gone to another port, gone to another computer, and rebooted their pc's. These methods all seem to work but rebooting appears to be the common factor here. Just a thought.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.