android
  #1  
Old 02-06-2008, 02:06 PM
JamesR's Avatar
JamesR JamesR is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11
Default sansapatcher not recognizing device

Hi, My Sansa e260 just arrived today, and when trying to get the rockbox on it, the sansa patcher box says "Sansa C200 or E200 not found, even though its connected to the usb port.

Does anyone know whats causing this, and how to fix it.

Thanks
__________________
4gb Clip
Head Direct RE-2
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 02-06-2008, 02:08 PM
Jeton's Avatar
Jeton Jeton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sėrmnovė, Macedonia
Posts: 326
Default

Could be a V2 Sansa, which doesn't run Rockbox, or if you're lucky, check that your Sansa is formatted with the FAT32 file system.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 02-06-2008, 02:35 PM
JamesR's Avatar
JamesR JamesR is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11
Default

so does that mean i dont need rockbox to get games on my sansa, and how would i go about that
__________________
4gb Clip
Head Direct RE-2
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 02-06-2008, 02:39 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

The e200v2 does not have any mods yet since they are a new model.

By the way, what firmware version do you have?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 02-06-2008, 02:44 PM
JamesR's Avatar
JamesR JamesR is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11
Default

Yeah, I have version 2. Checked the info and found "3.XX.XX." and when i hit it again, it said "Sansa 2007"
__________________
4gb Clip
Head Direct RE-2
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 02-06-2008, 02:49 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

So you will need to use the Sansa firmware till Rockbox works on the e200v2, and that could be a long time too.

By the way, welcome to ABi>>, JamesR.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 02-06-2008, 03:20 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
So you will need to use the Sansa firmware till Rockbox works on the e200v2, and that could be a long time too.
Yep, this is the sad unfortunate truth about e200v2 players right now.
__________________
Players: Zune 30GB (Music), iPod Touch 8GB 2g (Apps/Podcasts), Zune HD 32GB (sold to brother)
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 02-23-2008, 06:33 PM
Fed Fed is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
Default

Can you use an older sansa firmware on the new units?
__________________
Player: Rockboxed Sansa e280
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 02-23-2008, 07:07 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fed View Post
Can you use an older sansa firmware on the new units?
No. The SoC is totally different. The e200v2 is no longer a PortalPlayer device- it uses an AMS SoC.

Charles
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 02-24-2008, 11:39 PM
coreman coreman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeton View Post
Could be a V2 Sansa, which doesn't run Rockbox, or if you're lucky, check that your Sansa is formatted with the FAT32 file system.
I have same problem on a replacement E250 (my original one worked fine with Rockbox but battery burned up)...so should hard drive be FAT32 or NTFS for rockbox to work?

How can I tell V2 vs V1?
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 02-25-2008, 12:43 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

It should be formatted to FAT32. The only main way to tell if you have a v2 is with the Sansa firmware version.

Last edited by advcomp2019; 02-25-2008 at 12:52 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 02-25-2008, 12:44 AM
RCM's Avatar
RCM RCM is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm not telling
Posts: 1,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coreman View Post
I have same problem on a replacement E250 (my original one worked fine with Rockbox but battery burned up)...so should hard drive be FAT32 or NTFS for rockbox to work?

How can I tell V2 vs V1?
Quote:
Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
It should be formatted to FAT32. The only main way to tell if you have a v2 is with the Sansa firmware.
Plus NTFS will not work with it!
__________________
Sansa View 16GB (DEAD)
Sony Walkman NWZ-S544 (DEAD has a mind of it's own and don't feel like fixing it!)
Zune HD 32GB (Retired)
Samsung Galaxy tab 2 7.0
Motorola Droid razr m
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 02-25-2008, 10:56 PM
coreman coreman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default

My apologies for bothering you guys...after I posted yesterday, I visited the Sandisk site and found out that on back of player is the model number....sure enough I have E250v2 plus firmware number starting with 3.

I tried to delete my post but couldn't find it for some strange reason... I got into this problem because my v1 player was replaced with new V2 player under RMA.

I will have to say that Sandisk Customer Service was very easy to work with and I really appreciated how they handled my complaint. I live in Taiwan and they offered to cover international shipping for me. It wasn't much, ~$5 USD, so I didn't bother filing a claim.

So my family now owns (2) v1s (both Rockboxed) and one v2...and it looks like I'm going to get stuck with the v2... I'm going to miss that Sleep Timer...among many other features!! Guess I'll head on over to the E200v2 forum now...
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 PM.