android
  #1  
Old 01-27-2008, 01:37 AM
pyr0sphere's Avatar
pyr0sphere pyr0sphere is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 727
Default Data Abort errors no matter which build I use

Hey guys, haven't been on these forums for a while so I'm not that up to date with all that's happening on the Rockbox scene. But after a quick reading, the big things that seem to have happened are: Viewports, which nobody seems to like, USB now requesting full power, and a new patch for battery time increase

Anyway, for a while now (about a month or so), I've been getting random Data Abort errors. Don't know if the exact numbers matter or not, so I didn't bother writing them down

Anyway, it seems to happen when I manually select a new song to play, or when the next song in a playlist starts. The data abort usually appears within the first 5 seconds of playback.

I'm fairly certain that it doesn't happen only for specific files. Sometimes, certain files will play fine in one build, other times, they will create the error in another

So because of this, I decided to finally update my Rockbox build last night (I've been using chrisjs' for a while) Unfortunately, the problem still happens

So I then decided to try out cpchan's build and amazingly, I still get a data abort error under the exact circumstances (within the first 5 secs or so of playback, on random songs) but the freaking error has a different number to it this time

Finally, I decided to take drastic measures and uninstalled the bootloader and formatted the player. Currently, I've installed the official SVN Rockbox build + the battery life patch and about 5 minutes ago got another data abort error. I think the number was the same as the one I got using cpchan's build, if that matters any

So I really don't know what's up. The error isn't build dependent (tried out the latest from chrisjs, cpchan, as well as the official SVN build + the battery patch)

It's not file dependent either as certain files play absolutely fine in one build. Switching over to another build, these exact files will now cause data aborts each and every single time.


Everything loaded is up to date. Downloaded the Rockbox Build at about 1:30AM Jan 27 and downloaded the Sansapatcher.exe from the Rockbox page at about the same time. So that shouldn't be the issue either
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-27-2008, 05:38 AM
Solid Asheron Solid Asheron is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 14
Default

got the same problem. in addition all my songs are duplicating themselves. well.. not actually duplicating but almost every song is displayed about 7 times or more in the data base
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-27-2008, 05:57 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solid Asheron View Post
got the same problem. in addition all my songs are duplicating themselves. well.. not actually duplicating but almost every song is displayed about 7 times or more in the data base
Try doing a clean installation, i.e. delete the .rockbox directory first, You might also want to run a chkdsk/scandisk before reinstalling.

Charles
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-27-2008, 01:05 PM
pyr0sphere's Avatar
pyr0sphere pyr0sphere is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 727
Default

Glad to know it's not just me

About your duplication problem, you could probably fix that by initializing the database in Rockbox
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-27-2008, 10:22 PM
neoflame neoflame is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Default

I was actually having the same problem (running kugel's latest build) before I was forced to switch to an, um, alternate player because the headphone jack on my Sansa broke.
__________________
Sansa e260 (Rockboxed)
UE super.fi 3/Koss PortaPro
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-27-2008, 10:54 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pyr0sphere View Post
Glad to know it's not just me
If a clean reinstallation doesn't solve the problem. Another cause could also be that your bootloader is too old.

Charles
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-27-2008, 11:40 PM
pyr0sphere's Avatar
pyr0sphere pyr0sphere is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 727
Default

Yeah, I thought that might be a possibility, and made sure I got the latest one when I did a clean install

What I did was uninstalled my, then current, bootloader and then formatted the player. I then went to the Rockbox site and downloaded the sansapatcher.exe from the Installation page. Assuming that they keep an up to date version, mine should be the latest as of last night
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-28-2008, 02:21 AM
slawson slawson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 25
Default

Sure its not a hardware/memory problem? Have you tried running the original firmware for a while to see if the same thing happens?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-28-2008, 11:42 AM
pyr0sphere's Avatar
pyr0sphere pyr0sphere is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 727
Default

Pretty sure the data abort error is a Rockbox specific error

I don't think it's hardware anymore as a couple other people are experiencing it
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-28-2008, 12:24 PM
kratonator's Avatar
kratonator kratonator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 707
Default

It seems to me (I hope I'm wrong) that this problem is similar to the "scrambled pixels" problem, that means that very few players have this problem. I haven't got a data abort since June 2007 or so.
__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein
Currently Using
Player: Cowon D2 | Rockboxed SanDisk Sansa e250
Headphones: Technics RP-HT300 | Panasonic RP-HT202|JVC HA-FX55
Sansa Rockbox Themes: KratoGlass|KratoSky|KratoJet|JetoKrat
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 01-28-2008, 12:36 PM
tacitapproval tacitapproval is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 40
Default

I had it happen as described trying to resume random playback of all music files after restart the other day. Although, I just tried it again and it played fine. I am on Kugel's build, by the way.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 01-28-2008, 08:55 PM
Elbee Elbee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Default Same here

I have had the same problem since about the same time as the first poster. Haven't found a fix yet.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 02-02-2008, 02:03 PM
Solid Asheron Solid Asheron is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 14
Default

I reinstalled rockbox and the bootloader.... seems to work so far...
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 AM.