android
  #1  
Old 01-28-2008, 08:27 PM
Gatch Gatch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Default e260r mount error Ubunutu

Below is the error message I get when player is attached in "Rhapsody" mode. When in "PlaysForSure" mode it opens Rhythmbox player.

Any ideas?
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot-gnome-mount.png (8.9 KB, 16 views)
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-28-2008, 09:35 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gatch View Post
Below is the error message I get when player is attached in "Rhapsody" mode. When in "PlaysForSure" mode it opens Rhythmbox player.
Try mounting it manually to see if it works. If it doesn't, post the errors from your /var/log/messages.

Charles
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-29-2008, 05:51 PM
Gatch Gatch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Default

I'm not sure how to manually mount this device. Would it be:

sudo mkdir /media/sansa

sudo mount -t vfat/dev/sda2/media/sansa

I'm fairly new to Ubuntu.
Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-29-2008, 07:17 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gatch View Post
I'm not sure how to manually mount this device. Would it be:

sudo mkdir /media/sansa

sudo mount -t vfat/dev/sda2/media/sansa

I'm fairly new to Ubuntu.
Thanks for your help.
First you don't really need the -t option, since the system is smart enough to guess a vfat partition- of course there is no harm using it. Secondly /dev/sda2 is worng- partition 2 is the 16 Mb hidden system partition. Using this:

Quote:
sudo mount /dev/sda1 /media/sansa
Also are you sure that it is sda? sda is the first hard drive.

What is the output of:

Quote:
sudo fdisk -l
when the device is plugged in?

Charles
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-29-2008, 09:30 PM
Gatch Gatch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
What is the output of:

Quote:
sudo fdisk -l
Here is is:

steve@steve-desktop:~$ sudo fdisk -l
[sudo] password for steve:

Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xceb4ceb4

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 13227 106245846 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2 13228 15659 19535040 83 Linux
/dev/sda3 15660 18091 19535040 83 Linux
/dev/sda4 18092 18577 3903795 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Disk /dev/sdb: 4000 MB, 4000317440 bytes
88 heads, 49 sectors/track, 1811 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 4312 * 512 = 2207744 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 1 1812 3906270 b W95 FAT32

Also with device plugged in
Quote:
sudo mount /dev/sda1 /media/sansa
result is:


steve@steve-desktop:~$ sudo mount /dev/sda1 /media/sansa
fuse: failed to access mountpoint /media/sansa: No such file or directory
FUSE mount point creation failed
Unmounting /dev/sda1 ()
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-29-2008, 09:40 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gatch View Post
Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 1 1812 3906270 b W95 FAT32
Like I suspected. Make sure /media/sansa exists. The mount command is:

Quote:
sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /media/sansa
Charles
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-30-2008, 09:09 PM
Gatch Gatch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Default

The message I get is:

steve@steve-desktop:~$ sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /media/sansa
mount: mount point /media/sansa does not exist
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-31-2008, 03:58 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gatch View Post
The message I get is:

steve@steve-desktop:~$ sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /media/sansa
mount: mount point /media/sansa does not exist
Code:
sudo mkdir -p /media/sansa
sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /media/sansa
Charles
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-31-2008, 09:26 PM
Gatch Gatch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Default

The mount command worked to get the icon on the desktop.
I can browse & remove files from the device.

However, I cannot drop anything into the file browser. ("You do not have permission to write to this folder")

Amarok does not recognize the device when I try to connect to it.

It also will not unmount from the icon command.
The window says: "Device to unmount is not in /media/.hal-mtab so it is not mounted by HAL."
I was able to unmount it from the terminal.

I am encouraged by the progress thus far and I appreciate your patience.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 PM.