android
  #1  
Old 10-02-2007, 09:51 AM
Techman666 Techman666 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Default this article is not accurate

http://www.anythingbutipod.com/archi...05-and-705.php

All divx and xvids i have copied to my 605 wifi have played no problems.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-02-2007, 09:54 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

You should post that in the comments section of the article. Might be more helpful than in here.

Furthermore, the article was from June 2007, live from the Archos press conference in NYC... Archos probably realized in the meantime that they can't ditch DivX/XviD support...
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-02-2007, 10:20 AM
Machiventa's Avatar
Machiventa Machiventa is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 886
Default

thanks for posting that, this whole time i thought it didn't support those formats. good to know. my choice is narrowing piece by piece, just waiting to see what MS brings to the table with their next zunes.
__________________
DILLA BANGED MY WIFE
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-02-2007, 11:17 AM
zhalfim's Avatar
zhalfim zhalfim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 117
Default

oh really? daaamn, then an archos is definitely back on my list then...
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 10-02-2007, 12:24 PM
2nice 2nice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Furthermore, the article was from June 2007, live from the Archos press conference in NYC... Archos probably realized in the meantime that they can't ditch DivX/XviD support...
Archos never did plan to ditch DivX and Xvid support. Archos was the first PVP maker and they supported the formats since, this site is just lacking on Archos product news, that article I believe was the last one about them (or might have been the ArchosTV one). Quite odd for non-iPod site.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 10-02-2007, 05:54 PM
EnzoTen's Avatar
EnzoTen EnzoTen is offline
Editor
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: US
Posts: 2,384
Default

I will be posting a review of the 605 very soon. Overall, im not impressed. More later...


and... btw... yes i wrote that article and it was a mistake... they are not discontinuing support for divx/xvid
__________________
abi>> News | Reviews |Videos | FaceBook >> Zune Card | Twitter
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-19-2008, 08:03 AM
grandm grandm is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default the technical support says Archos does not support divX and Xvid

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnzoTen View Post
I will be posting a review of the 605 very soon. Overall, im not impressed. More later...


and... btw... yes i wrote that article and it was a mistake... they are not discontinuing support for divx/xvid

I don't understand, everyone here says Archos supports divX and Xvid. My one month old 605 plays avi files but when it plays the ones with Xvid the video and audio don't synchronized and the video stops after forwarding while the audio continues. I called the technical support and was told that it does not support divX/Xvid because Archos is not divX/Xvid certified. I had to use PocketDivXEncoder to convert the file through PC before I could watch it on the device. Please enlighten me.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-19-2008, 03:07 PM
2nice 2nice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 305
Default

Sounds like an issue with the audio codec you were using. PocketDivXEncoder uses MP3 so that might have fixed the problem. Most non-iPod/Zune mp3 players play DivX/Xvid but they are not DivX certified. One one that is is the Sansa View because SanDisk made an agreement with DivX. To avoid the costs most manufacturers just use an Xvid decoder which is free and can also do DivX as well.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-20-2008, 06:40 PM
bootlegapparel's Avatar
bootlegapparel bootlegapparel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 29
Default

isn't there like divx 3,4,5,6 or something and Archos is missing support for one of those versions?

pretty sure that's the issue
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-20-2008, 10:25 PM
grandm grandm is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default

You are probably right. Checked the media info of the files that will play on my unit, it plays divX3 and 5, don't know about 4 and 6. It also plays Xvid, but only those with the info of video writing library Xvid0037, Xvid0039, nothing with Xvid0046. I only noticed the difference of the media info but don't understand and don't know if it has anything to do with the problem. I have both video audio plug ins but when I tried to play a H264 video file it says the image is too big. Isn't 605 supposed to play 800X480? How do I adjust it then?
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 01-21-2008, 05:02 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grandm View Post
it plays divX3 and 5, don't know about 4 and 6
Interesting... DivX 3 isn't a legit codec, it's an illegally hacked version of Microsoft's MP42 codec. Version 4 of DivX is rewritten from scratch, with no illegal portions in it. I really didn't think the Archos would play DivX 3.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 AM.