android
  #1  
Old 01-01-2008, 02:01 AM
breaker_unit breaker_unit is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Default need sansa e260 help

I had a sansa e200r and successful got rockbox working on it. My Sansa e200r broke so now i got a Sansa e260 and it has a whole differnt everything. I been having trouble getting rockbox working in it. I read everything I could but still didn't help. I use windows and the version e260 is V03.01.14A.

Help is greatly appreciated by me

sorry if this is the wrong section.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-01-2008, 02:19 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Sorry, but you have a v2. The v2s are unsupported still.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-01-2008, 02:38 AM
breaker_unit breaker_unit is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
Sorry, but you have a v2. The v2s are unsupported still.
thanks for info. Could I mod it to work by changing the version..? :-)
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-01-2008, 02:43 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Nope, they have 100% different hardware inside them.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-05-2008, 07:27 PM
Soundwave Soundwave is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 31
Default v2 or v1?

I found a version 1 e260. I can either get a v1 or v2, now. I am wondering if the v2 is improved significantly to go for it and whether Rockbox will configure it in the near future or not. I'd go for SQ above all else but if it's not really noticeable, then I could go for the v1 and have the Rockbox option. The v1 is cheaper as the v2 costs twice as much.

Which do you recommend?
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-05-2008, 07:32 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

The v2 players cost the same amount.
__________________
Players: Zune 30GB (Music), iPod Touch 8GB 2g (Apps/Podcasts), Zune HD 32GB (sold to brother)
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-06-2008, 04:34 PM
digerati1338's Avatar
digerati1338 digerati1338 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 337
Default

Get a v1. The only real difference is that the v2s support audible books. This doesn't really matter, since you can get the same thing on other sites in mp3 or any other format.

Any sound quality differences are most likely negligible with rockbox installed. Sound quality is much better in rockbox than the OF anyway.
__________________
Rockbox digibuild
Player: SanDisk Sansa e200
Firmware: Rockbox digibuild
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-06-2008, 11:26 PM
Llorean Llorean is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 397
Default

This is untrue. Depending upon the signal path, it's entirely possible they could've improved the noise while reading from flash.

Until testing is done, there's no reason to assume that sound quality is different, but it'd be just as erroneous to assume that it's the same.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-08-2008, 04:51 PM
Soundwave Soundwave is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 31
Default

I took the risk and got the version 1 e260. I haven't tried it yet.

I will want to do the following:
1) get it to work in Linux - with Amarok and Rockbox
2) get it to work in Windows 2000 (only choice is USB UMS device, I think) and use Windows Explorer, I suppose to do the drag and drop. Perhaps, Rockbox has a Windows version?
3) get it to work in Windows XP. I don't have XP yet but I probably can get it. I am not a Windows fan but sometimes you need it for some things. With a copy of XP, I wouldn't have to worry about MTP players.

As for the sound differences between version 1 and version2, I guess I will just have to risk it. The version 1 of the same model was refurbished and the version 2 was more than double the price. I have the option of using Rockbox so hopefully, the sound isn't too far behind ver.2. Sound quality is important to me more than features. I have noise-cancelling headphones and they work okay.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-08-2008, 05:30 PM
Llorean Llorean is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 397
Default

Rockbox is a program that runs on your player instead of the built in software. There's not a "Windows" or "Linux" version. It runs on the player, not on the PC.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 01-08-2008, 06:57 PM
Soundwave Soundwave is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Llorean View Post
Rockbox is a program that runs on your player instead of the built in software. There's not a "Windows" or "Linux" version. It runs on the player, not on the PC.
Sorry, my mistake.

P.S. I'm testing the player right now. The sound is great. I listened to a demo song and I had to turn the volume way down. Part of it could be my earphones (which I bought on ebay, not using the ones that came with the player). I'm quite happy about the sound and if the ver. 2 is even better...wow...

I just have to learn how to use the player and Rockbox (which I want to try).
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.