android
  #1  
Old 12-25-2007, 08:57 AM
swtormrider81 swtormrider81 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Default Hi, I need Help with The sansa clip-2GB Pink

Hi
I just got the Sana Clip 2GB PINK for my wife for X-mas. The one Best buy was selling for $45.
Anyways, I know nothing about mp3 players and stuff.
I went to plug in the mp3 player into the computer with the USB cord, and On my coputer I get this:
USB Device not recognized.
I have no idea what to do. Any help would be very much appreciated.
Thanks guys!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-25-2007, 09:50 AM
Kilgore Trout's Avatar
Kilgore Trout Kilgore Trout is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 39
Default

What kind of computer and what operating system are you using?

Minimum System Requirements
  • Windows® XP SP2 or Vista® Operating System
  • Windows Media Player® 10 or 11
  • CD-ROM drive
  • High-Speed USB 2.0 port required for hi-speed transfer
You will likely have problems with a Mac or a Win 98 machine.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-25-2007, 09:52 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Try to connect in MSC mode, read here, then update the firmware, read here.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-25-2007, 11:49 AM
swtormrider81 swtormrider81 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilgore Trout View Post
What kind of computer and what operating system are you using?

Minimum System Requirements
  • Windows® XP SP2 or Vista® Operating System
  • Windows Media Player® 10 or 11
  • CD-ROM drive
  • High-Speed USB 2.0 port required for hi-speed transfer
You will likely have problems with a Mac or a Win 98 machine.
Im using windows xp sp2 and wmp 11.

Its like my computer cant read the usb of the mp3 cord.

How can I check my USB port to see if it reads 2.0?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-25-2007, 05:42 PM
jeffrok jeffrok is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 341
Default

Are you plugging it into a USB hub, or possibly a USB port on a laptop? There may not be enough power in those ports.. Try a full powered USB port, like in the back of your desktop'/tower if there are any free ports.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 12-28-2007, 03:27 PM
jaylicht jaylicht is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 43
Default

Any Mac that has USB from the last 9+ years and that has Mac OS 8.6 to the lastest OS X shouldn't have problems with players that can mount like USB drives. Just copy your mp3s to and from, delete, etc like any other small disk. It's a shame all of these companies misinform by stating such requirements. It really misleads people. And the firmware updater program is a sham when in fact all we need to do to update firmware on our players is copy a .bin file to the root of the drive. BTW, I copy by doing drags directly from iTunes to the Clip's music folder.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 PM.