android
  #561  
Old 06-19-2007, 08:44 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjs162216 View Post
Some people said that SDCard Error 10 was gone, so I'm hoping it works. Otherwise I may have a hard time preventing it from getting commited.
I already put up a build with that patch. Why don't you try it and see if it works for you.

Charles

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #562  
Old 06-19-2007, 08:55 AM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
I already put up a build with that patch. Why don't you try it and see if it works for you.

Charles
Still freezes =/

  #563  
Old 06-19-2007, 09:11 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjs162216 View Post
Still freezes =/
Hum, why don't you try my attached config file and see if it works? Unfortunately, I don't know how to debug the device- on a computer, I would just use gdb and strace.

Charles
Attached Files
File Type: zip config.zip (604 Bytes, 4 views)

  #564  
Old 06-19-2007, 09:24 AM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

I'm hoping to find a way to get the sansa to give me some sort of debug information, but no luck yet. Config file didn't help either.

  #565  
Old 06-19-2007, 09:35 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjs162216 View Post
I'm hoping to find a way to get the sansa to give me some sort of debug information, but no luck yet. Config file didn't help either.
Exactly. Like I said on a computer I would just use gdb (the GNU debugger). However, with the Sansa, I an at a lost. I went through the debug menu and can't find any option to at least enable some verbose logging.

Charles

  #566  
Old 06-19-2007, 09:53 AM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

I don't think verbose logging would even have an affect, as it seems like it is having problems reading from the memory. JdGordon thinks it's possible it may be a problem with memory bank switching, since there's two chips on my e250, while others have only one chip. (Not to mention the PP chip being replaced with nVidia (who bought out PP) and a new RAM chip)

  #567  
Old 06-19-2007, 10:23 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjs162216 View Post
I don't think verbose logging would even have an affect, as it seems like it is having problems reading from the memory
You maybe correct here.

Quote:
JdGordon thinks it's possible it may be a problem with memory bank switching, since there's two chips on my e250, while others have only one chip.
Yes, I see the email from the tracker. Hopefully they will sort it out soon. I am at a lost when it comes to such low level device programming.

Quote:
(Not to mention the PP chip being replaced with nVidia (who bought out PP) and a new RAM chip)
This I know.

Charles

  #568  
Old 06-19-2007, 04:40 PM
Fokker's Avatar
Fokker Fokker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
Hum, why don't you try my attached config file and see if it works? Unfortunately, I don't know how to debug the device- on a computer, I would just use gdb and strace.

Charles
Sorry, didn't work for me either, even with your config file. I have an e240 with 1 Gb Kingston MicroSD.

  #569  
Old 06-19-2007, 08:31 PM
kockroach kockroach is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 56
Default

Hey cpchan,

Wanted to let you know that I noticed a big improvement with the database initialization speed with the new build. I have an e260 (with a 2GB microSD, but no songs on it right now). I added 331 additional songs to my e260 earlier, but it was taking forever to re-populate the database. So stopped it when I saw this build might speed things up. It did without a doubt make it faster. And that is with an microSD card present but not even using it.

Thanks!

  #570  
Old 06-19-2007, 09:16 PM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fokker View Post
Sorry, didn't work for me either, even with your config file. I have an e240 with 1 Gb Kingston MicroSD.
I'm guessing you mean an e260? (4 GB)

  #571  
Old 06-19-2007, 09:27 PM
Fokker's Avatar
Fokker Fokker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjs162216 View Post
I'm guessing you mean an e260? (4 GB)
Good guess... but I meant an e250 (2GB). Sorry, my mistake.

  #572  
Old 06-20-2007, 01:48 AM
je4nKO's Avatar
je4nKO je4nKO is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Well i installed last build yesterday,and it works much better,if not perfect.Booting is fast,database created in no time,and music playing loud.I have e250,1GB kingston as well.Thanks cpchan.
However,i want ask about one,two thing...font in,for example,database browsing is in original theme color,but maybe half of text is in black.It is not so good if you use black backround.
And sound quality is really enjoyable.Just i think that with crossfeed enabled it sounds worse.Maybe i dont know the right settings.

Godspeed
__________________
respice finem

  #573  
Old 06-20-2007, 04:35 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by je4nKO View Post
Well i installed last build yesterday,and it works much better,if not perfect.Booting is fast,database created in no time,and music playing loud.I have e250,1GB kingston as well.
Great.

Quote:
Thanks cpchan.
No problem.

Quote:
However,i want ask about one,two thing...font in,for example,database browsing is in original theme color,but maybe half of text is in black.It is not so good if you use black backround.
Will be fixed in the release I am preparing now. The db display code have not been adepted yet to the new "custom filetypes colour" code. The fix (from svn) in the release just uses the foreground colour for now.

Quote:
Just i think that with crossfeed enabled it sounds worse.Maybe i dont know the right settings.
Try playing around with it. Some people like crossfeed, some people don't. I personally find it it sounds more natural with crossfeed on. In case you don't know what crossfeed is, here is some info:

http://www.headphone.com/products/fa...oom-crossfeed/

Charles

Last edited by cpchan; 06-20-2007 at 07:22 AM.

  #574  
Old 06-20-2007, 05:01 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fokker View Post
Good guess... but I meant an e250 (2GB). Sorry, my mistake.
It is a newer Sansa?

Charles

  #575  
Old 06-20-2007, 06:36 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kockroach View Post
Wanted to let you know that I noticed a big improvement with the database initialization speed with the new build.
Good, it looks like the new "MicroSD Card" patch update is working out for most people.

Charles

  #576  
Old 06-20-2007, 07:22 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
Will be fixed in the release I am preparing now. The db display code have not been adepted yet to the new "filetypes custom colour" code. The fix (from svn) in the release just uses the foreground colour for now.
New release is uploaded.

Charles

  #577  
Old 06-20-2007, 09:46 AM
kratonator's Avatar
kratonator kratonator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 707
Default

I just bought a MicroSD card and it works perfectly.
I noticed yesterday that the colours of the files are a bit strange. Was this commited to the SVN? If so I have to tell you that I don't like it...
__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein
Currently Using
Player: Cowon D2 | Rockboxed SanDisk Sansa e250
Headphones: Technics RP-HT300 | Panasonic RP-HT202|JVC HA-FX55
Sansa Rockbox Themes: KratoGlass|KratoSky|KratoJet|JetoKrat

  #578  
Old 06-20-2007, 10:08 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kratonator View Post
I just bought a MicroSD card and it works perfectly.
Good. Nice to hear the feedback.

Quote:
I noticed yesterday that the colours of the files are a bit strange. Was this commited to the SVN? If so I have to tell you that I don't like it...
I presume you mean in the database. It was a side effect of a new feature that allows different supported filetypes to have a different colours through a config file (which is not supported in the db view yet). This is fixed in the new version that I uploaded today which just uses the foreground colour.

As a side note, I tried out the new feature- a bit too colourful for me and hard to read unless you have a 1 colour background. It is strange, I like my Emacs to look like an "angry fruit salad". but not my DAP.

Charles

  #579  
Old 06-20-2007, 10:28 AM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

It's just the LCD fade patch, which prevents me from installing you build! =(

I love the LCD fading :O

  #580  
Old 06-20-2007, 10:35 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by godess View Post
It's just the LCD fade patch, which prevents me from installing you build! =(
All you have to do is ask- I will include it in the next release. Like I have said before, the only patches that I won't consider are eye candy patches that waste battery life and cannot be turned off.

Charles

Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 AM.