android
  #221  
Old 05-18-2007, 04:17 PM
dzr dzr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 77
Default

Thanks, I'll take a look..

Uh, the URLs don't work... the "..." became literal "..." in the URL...
I pieced together the correct URL, but just wanted to let you know of the URL problem!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
Strange, jpeg viewer works perfectly for me. Also, I have never seen 1 data abort. We are not sure why some people are getting it. Try one of the solutions in these 2 threads:

http://www.anythingbutipo...um/showthread.php?t=14543

and

http://www.anythingbutipo...ead.php?p=121297#poststop

and see if it works.

Charles

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #222  
Old 05-19-2007, 05:06 AM
G.I.Joe G.I.Joe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 68
Default

I tried switching to your build today (have been using chrisjs' before), but I'm getting a weird, buzzing background noise on my headphones while the backlight is active. Maybe this is being caused by the latest audio "improvements" wich are not in chrisjs' branch.

  #223  
Old 05-19-2007, 05:24 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G.I.Joe View Post
I tried switching to your build today (have been using chrisjs' before), but I'm getting a weird, buzzing background noise on my headphones while the backlight is active. Maybe this is being caused by the latest audio "improvements" wich are not in chrisjs' branch.
Yes, it seem to be the new audio improvement in SVN. However, it also depends on the cans you are using. I can't hear it with my PX-100 (open cans). I presume you are either using some type of IEM or Ear bugs.

Be patient, it will get fixed in time.

Charles

  #224  
Old 05-19-2007, 05:32 AM
printfXh4 printfXh4 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Hey,
I just upgraded to your build from the default rockbox one...
Don't know if that's the cause of my problem, but while playing music with EQ on, scrolling in menus really slows down (not always immediately-- it may take a few seconds of scrolling for it to start slowing down).
Furthermore, plugins (i.e. snake2 and chopper ) seem to be super slow while playing music. (They might be fast for a while, then slow down)
Turning EQ off fixes everything.
Is this to be expected? Or is this unusual?
Thanks, and great work with the builds.

  #225  
Old 05-19-2007, 05:49 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by printfXh4 View Post
Don't know if that's the cause of my problem, but while playing music with EQ on, scrolling in menus really slows down (not always immediately-- it may take a few seconds of scrolling for it to start slowing down).
Furthermore, plugins (i.e. snake2 and chopper ) seem to be super slow while playing music. (They might be fast for a while, then slow down)
Turning EQ off fixes everything.
Is this to be expected? Or is this unusual?
Thanks, and great work with the builds.
Don't know, I don't use EQ. However it could be the new GPIO stuff. Try the build that I uploaded today, it is suppose to speed things up a bit. If you still have problems, I will investigate whether it is the latest SVN or one of the patches.

Quote:
Thanks, and great work with the builds.
No problem at all.

Charles

  #226  
Old 05-19-2007, 05:59 AM
printfXh4 printfXh4 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Hey,
The build I'm using is as of about 1-2 hours ago-- according to the archives, the timestamp was the 18th.
Is that the latest one? (I don't really know much about the timezone difference, but it's night-time 19th here)

  #227  
Old 05-19-2007, 06:02 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by printfXh4 View Post
Hey,
Is that the latest one? (I don't really know much about the timezone difference, but it's night-time 19th here)
Yes, it is. I will look into your problem.

Charles

  #228  
Old 05-19-2007, 08:20 AM
MonoPete MonoPete is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by printfXh4 View Post
Hey,
I just upgraded to your build from the default rockbox one...
Don't know if that's the cause of my problem, but while playing music with EQ on, scrolling in menus really slows down (not always immediately-- it may take a few seconds of scrolling for it to start slowing down).
Furthermore, plugins (i.e. snake2 and chopper ) seem to be super slow while playing music. (They might be fast for a while, then slow down)
Turning EQ off fixes everything.
Is this to be expected? Or is this unusual?
Thanks, and great work with the builds.
I'm having just the same problem. But I don't usually use the EQ I use the bass and treble only. But I've got that problem also in default rockbox.

  #229  
Old 05-19-2007, 09:48 AM
printfXh4 printfXh4 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Awesome-- so it's not something I caused.

  #230  
Old 05-19-2007, 01:49 PM
RCM's Avatar
RCM RCM is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm not telling
Posts: 1,549
Default

Yeah I am having this same problem also. When it happened to me the screen and scrollwheel were off so I thought there was something seriously wrong until I held the power button down and booted into the original firmware
__________________
Sansa View 16GB (DEAD)
Sony Walkman NWZ-S544 (DEAD has a mind of it's own and don't feel like fixing it!)
Zune HD 32GB (Retired)
Samsung Galaxy tab 2 7.0
Motorola Droid razr m

  #231  
Old 05-20-2007, 12:05 AM
pyr0sphere's Avatar
pyr0sphere pyr0sphere is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 727
Default

Hmm am I the only one that doesn't have this scrolling problem?

At first I thought it was due to the newest cpchan build, so I was relunctant to update.

Anyway, I updated maybe 10 minutes ago to the newst build (previously had the build which had drastically improved the sound). When playing music, I went to scroll up and down through menus and played the Brickmania game but there was no slow down or problem at all? In fact, everything seemed quicker and crisper as advertised


Bah, seems like I've been hit by the Data Abort bug now as well
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Last edited by pyr0sphere; 05-20-2007 at 12:52 AM.

  #232  
Old 05-20-2007, 04:46 AM
MonoPete MonoPete is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Bah, seems like I've been hit by the Data Abort bug now as well
Try installing Rockbox again, change theme and reboot immediately. I haven't had any data aborts since I did that.

  #233  
Old 05-20-2007, 06:01 AM
printfXh4 printfXh4 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pyr0sphere View Post
Hmm am I the only one that doesn't have this scrolling problem?

At first I thought it was due to the newest cpchan build, so I was relunctant to update.

Anyway, I updated maybe 10 minutes ago to the newst build (previously had the build which had drastically improved the sound). When playing music, I went to scroll up and down through menus and played the Brickmania game but there was no slow down or problem at all? In fact, everything seemed quicker and crisper as advertised


Bah, seems like I've been hit by the Data Abort bug now as well
With EQ on?
Like I said, absolutely no problems if I don't use EQ.

  #234  
Old 05-20-2007, 06:06 AM
Jeton's Avatar
Jeton Jeton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sėrmnovė, Macedonia
Posts: 326
Default

There's some noise when i install this build.

I've noticed that when the LCD is off, the noise is gone as well. When the lcd light is on, the noise is back as well.

  #235  
Old 05-20-2007, 07:47 AM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

WOW, your newest build is just GREAT. I've never heard such nice sound out of Rockbox. And the volume level is comparable to the OF too.

With this version, everythings seems to be fine. This is what I expected when I first installed Rockbox! I didn't try to activate EQ tho.

Thanks very much

€dit: Do you know what I am missing? The feature of the OF, where you could allways jump to "Now playing" via pushing the menu/off button! This doesn't work in Rockbox =(

Last edited by kugel; 05-20-2007 at 07:58 AM.

  #236  
Old 05-20-2007, 08:23 AM
kratonator's Avatar
kratonator kratonator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 707
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by godess View Post
€dit: Do you know what I am missing? The feature of the OF, where you could allways jump to "Now playing" via pushing the menu/off button! This doesn't work in Rockbox =(
It actually does work. You must press the play button, not the menu/off button.
__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein
Currently Using
Player: Cowon D2 | Rockboxed SanDisk Sansa e250
Headphones: Technics RP-HT300 | Panasonic RP-HT202|JVC HA-FX55
Sansa Rockbox Themes: KratoGlass|KratoSky|KratoJet|JetoKrat

  #237  
Old 05-20-2007, 08:57 AM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kratonator View Post
It actually does work. You must press the play button, not the menu/off button.
Do you mean the big button in the middle or the play/pause button above the wheel?

  #238  
Old 05-20-2007, 09:04 AM
kratonator's Avatar
kratonator kratonator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 707
Default

The play/pause button above the wheel takes you back to the "Now Playing" screen.
__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein
Currently Using
Player: Cowon D2 | Rockboxed SanDisk Sansa e250
Headphones: Technics RP-HT300 | Panasonic RP-HT202|JVC HA-FX55
Sansa Rockbox Themes: KratoGlass|KratoSky|KratoJet|JetoKrat

  #239  
Old 05-20-2007, 09:57 AM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

Hmm cool.

Anyone knows why my time and date is totally broken in the "Now playing" screen.
I.e. it says: "16:M:5c" and "Mai d 'yc" instead of "16:50:34" and "Mai 16'07". It's totally broken, in the menu it works tho.

I use azure theme with snap font and silk icons and German language. Neither language change to English nor applying another font helped.

  #240  
Old 05-20-2007, 09:58 AM
major_works's Avatar
major_works major_works is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 256
Default SD Card patch and hot swapping

sd_card.patch: Micro SD card support. This will slow down directory navigation a bit, since the file system cache have to be disabled, because the code have not been updated to use multiple volumes. Also, it will freeze if the card is hot swapped at this point.

Charles:

I haven't tried your build of late but I noted the above in your top post. Have you updated to jdgordon's latest revision of Toni's original sd_card.patch? That's what I'm using in my own builds and I'm not seeing any freezeups whatsoever. Even if I'm looking at the Files menu, the card just appears/disappears as it is is inserted/removed. In other words, it seems to work perfectly.

I'll download yours and see what happens.

Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 PM.