android
  #1  
Old 05-16-2007, 05:14 PM
daneel daneel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
Default HOWTO : Upgrade Firmware (K3)

I know there are plenty of threads about the firmware already. But there's no "do this, this and that and your firware upgrade is complete" kind of post. so i though i'd put this.

1. Plug the player (should be detected as an MTP device)
2. Format the device
3. Put the .rom and .img files (4.03) in the root directory of the player
4. Disconnect the USB cable and switch it on
5. You should get the upgrading firmware screen and then it turns itself off.
6. if you turn it on and get "no space for DB. delete at least 18mb error", plug into computer and format it again.
7. If you turn it on now and get a blank blue screen, just repeat steps) 3 and 4 and it should work this time.

the 4.06 upgrade is fairly straightforward once you have 4.03. just double click the exe file and hit upgrade.


4.03 Firmware
(UMS / MSC)


4.06 Firmware (UMS / MSC)

3.05 Firmware (MTP)

Last edited by daneel; 05-16-2007 at 05:19 PM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-16-2007, 06:55 PM
sushipixel's Avatar
sushipixel sushipixel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 28
Default

First of all thanks, also is it the same steps for the korean firmware. Or does the 4.06 version supports ums? Also ive heard that you have to update your firmware in sequential order - 1.03 - 1.06?
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-16-2007, 07:11 PM
adon adon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 18
Default

i cant put those files into my root directory. all i see in windows explorer is 'samsung yp-k3' which expands to 'internal storage' and that expands to a 'music' folder and a 'pictures' folder. there is no 'data' folder and the 'no entry' type sign comes up when i try to drag and drop files into the 'internal storage' bit. current firmware is Ver WA 1.04 JN
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-16-2007, 07:14 PM
daneel daneel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
Default

4.xx represents the korean firmware and 1.xx represents the worldwide firmware.

1.xx features
MTP support
ID3 tagging

4.xx features
UMS support
file browser
text files
font options
display colour option (red , blue or lime).

i think it is quite safe to go from 1.03 to 4.03 ( i did 1.03 > 1.09 > 4.03 > 4.06)
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-16-2007, 07:27 PM
sushipixel's Avatar
sushipixel sushipixel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 28
Default

Okay cool, im planning on getting a k3 and was wondering about that. Thanks.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-16-2007, 09:12 PM
m1Lk m1Lk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adon View Post
there is no 'data' folder and the 'no entry' type sign comes up when i try to drag and drop files into the 'internal storage' bit. current firmware is Ver WA 1.04 JN
Try creating one?
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 05-16-2007, 09:32 PM
m1Lk m1Lk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daneel View Post
3. Put the .rom and .img files (4.03) in the root directory of the player
If my memory serves me right, if you performed a format in 1.09, you need to place the .rom and .img files under \DATA\.

If you're getting the db error and you reformated, this means you've already upgraded to 4.03 just that the image hasnt been loaded. In this case then you put the update files in your root directory. This is the same case if you are upgrading from 1.43 since your player is already using UMS.

As I said, thats how I remembered it. Someone pls clarify

Last edited by m1Lk; 05-16-2007 at 09:39 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 05-16-2007, 10:47 PM
Katalyst Katalyst is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 55
Default

i never did that lol, i just jumped to 4.03 and then to 4.06, no errors yet


to Adon: "expands to a 'music' folder and a 'pictures' folder"

PUT INTO THAT FOLDER THE FIRMWARES

Last edited by Katalyst; 05-16-2007 at 10:58 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 05-17-2007, 10:28 AM
katakonik katakonik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14
Default

Just a comment about Steps 5 and 6. I suggest that when you're performing Step 5 instead of performing Step 6 (turning on the player), hook it up to your computer and it will say upgrading or updating image (I forget) and you won't see the "no space for DB. delete at least 18mb" message.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 05-17-2007, 10:30 AM
Katalyst Katalyst is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 55
Default

upgrading...


updating image is when you turn it on
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 05-18-2007, 03:05 PM
naps8906 naps8906 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Sorry for newbie question, but does upgrading to KR firmware allow me to view music files with korean fonts? I have tons of korean music, and i hate to not know what it is until listening to it.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 05-18-2007, 05:43 PM
m1Lk m1Lk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 29
Default

After upgrading, the default language is set to korean. That said I'm pretty damn sure you'll be able to see korean music files! ^^
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 05-18-2007, 06:27 PM
naps8906 naps8906 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Default

thanks! Worked great. just like the instruction, once formatted, and installed file, get error message. Just reformat and reinstall file and works great.

Last edited by naps8906; 05-18-2007 at 06:41 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 05-19-2007, 01:25 PM
ollyc ollyc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Hi all, sorry if this seems such a stupid question but can anyone please tell me how to format the k3? Is it just as simple as right clicking on the k3 in wmp11 and selecting format. just worried it may break somehow?

Also, once formatted will this allow me to see a data folder to copy the firmware into?

Finally, whats the difference between USB connectivity and MTP? My k3 initially connects as MTP but then switches to USB. Confusing me a bit really........

Many thanks.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 05-20-2007, 05:51 AM
ratman ratman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Default

Hi all (my first post here),

I tried the .exe automatic firmware upgrade program for KR firmware 4.06, without success (firmware version not recognised?).
So I managed to find manual firmware upgrade files, and I also found direct links to these files. I spent an hour for this (you are supposed to register with a korean registration form!).

Edit: (see post #1)

first link for blue, second for lime, third for red version.

The process is the same easy one: extract zip, copy both files on the root dir, disconnect. Power your player, wait, repeat once for the image upgrade.
Safer to format first, for space related problems.

The procedure is explained here:
http://yepp.muz.co.kr/download_board...&page=1&uid=13
yeah, it's in korean, but there are some useful screenshots.

Hope this helps!

@ollyc
To format the player I used the samsung studio bundled with it.
After the format procedure, you should get a data folder with worldwide firmware (1.*) or other folders (TEXT, PLAYLISTS, ...) with KR firmwares (4.*).

MPT connection is a proprietary connection protocol from Microsoft, used to preserve music rights. With windows+wmp11 you'll have no problems, but with Linux you're gonna run into troubles with this ( libmtp is not yet capable of connecting yp-k3 )

USB connectivity is the usual method used by USB-key, just a fake hard drive where you can move your files in, you can use Explorer to do that. Just be sure tu put files in the correct directory (where the player is going to search for them).

Bye again and sorry for my english.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 05-20-2007, 12:54 PM
ollyc ollyc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Hi ratman, thanks for yor help - don't worry, your english is just fine!

Managed to format and update firmware no probs now. Confused that no 'data' file appears and I kept getting the no entry sign when I tried to drap and drop the files. Just copied and pasted into the internal stroage file and firmware upgraded no worries.

I have a Z5 and had no problems at all upgrading but now bought a K3 for my girlfriend and everything seems to work a bit different. Both fantastic biits of kit though.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 05-20-2007, 01:21 PM
ollyc ollyc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Another question I'm afraid. I upgraded to 1.09 no problem at all but then I tried to upgrade to 3.05 When I try to paste the file into the internal storage file I get a message - 'The file YPK3.rom has one or more properties outside of device limits. Do you wish to copy the file to the device anyway?'

Has anyone else had this message and if so what would happen if I said yes and tried to upgrade. Not the most technical of people so any help would be very much appreciated.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 05-21-2007, 01:41 PM
EB2 EB2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Default Thanks for your posting Ratman!

Your posting saved my 4.06 upgrade - couldnt make it work.

Have a nice day
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 05-21-2007, 08:26 PM
sushipixel's Avatar
sushipixel sushipixel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 28
Default

Hey just wnated to say thanks. Just got my k3 and with this guide it was a breeze to upgrade with this guide, thanks once again.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 05-26-2007, 07:27 PM
cwx cwx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks for the tutorial!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 PM.