android
  #101  
Old 04-24-2007, 05:58 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pyr0sphere View Post
I've noticed with these newer builds that I no longer that this black bar problem I used to have.
You are luck. There must be some differences between our ver. 1.1 hardware-I still have the problem and I know I have the latest bootloader.

IIRC, you had some audio problems. Are they gone with the new build?

Charles

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #102  
Old 04-24-2007, 06:06 PM
pyr0sphere's Avatar
pyr0sphere pyr0sphere is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 727
Default

Yea, I was the one who said that I had the loud static problem.

I honestly can't tell if the static is gone or not. In fact, I really don't know if the black bar problem is gone either. I haven't used the new update long enough to properly tell.

But judging from above 3 hours of use, everything seems fine.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  #103  
Old 04-24-2007, 06:46 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pyr0sphere View Post
But judging from above 3 hours of use, everything seems fine.
Great. However, I must inform you that you must update again. I have integrated the DOOM patch you requested.

Charles

  #104  
Old 04-24-2007, 06:52 PM
pyr0sphere's Avatar
pyr0sphere pyr0sphere is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 727
Default

:O! I didn't even notice that there was a new update

Now I might finally beat the first level! =D
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  #105  
Old 04-24-2007, 06:54 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pyr0sphere View Post
Now I might finally beat the first level! =D
Please keep me informed on how the patch is working out.

Charles

  #106  
Old 04-24-2007, 07:01 PM
pyr0sphere's Avatar
pyr0sphere pyr0sphere is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 727
Default

It's actually different than what I expected it to be. The controls are IMO worse than before. Originally, I had planned that Up would be move forward, Down move back, Scroll Left to look left, Scroll Right to look right.

However, the new control scheme doesnt make any sense at all. Move Forward is Record. I think Left Button is move back, and Down Button is to Look Right?

In addition, I've noticed that when you bootup Rockbox, it no longer goes into the Main screen but into the Files screen




EDIT: Okay I know what happened.

According to this page: http://www.rockbox.org/tracker/task/6467 the controls were what I had originally wanted. However, apparently there is now some way to rotate Doom 90 degrees which is why they changed the controls so drastically.



Basically the controls are the same. What they originally had, which IMO was the only reason for the control change, was that they made the scroll wheel control turning. Now, in the 90 degree mode, they put the buttons back in charge of turning. However, I admit playing it 90 degrees rotated is nice
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Last edited by pyr0sphere; 04-24-2007 at 07:09 PM.

  #107  
Old 04-24-2007, 07:17 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pyr0sphere View Post
According to this page: http://www.rockbox.org/tracker/task/6467 the controls were what I had originally wanted. However, apparently there is now some way to rotate Doom 90 degrees which is why they changed the controls so drastically.[/B]
Yes, you beat me to it. The new keys are for landscape mode.

Charles

  #108  
Old 04-25-2007, 12:07 AM
zviper zviper is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 61
Default

what do i with that patch??

  #109  
Old 04-25-2007, 02:40 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zviper View Post
what do i with that patch??
The patch file is only there for people who want to compile their own and to satisfy the GPL. Otherwise just use the files rockbox_1.zip and rockbox_2.zip.

Charles

  #110  
Old 04-25-2007, 09:10 AM
zviper zviper is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 61
Default

ok kool, thanks

  #111  
Old 04-25-2007, 10:23 AM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

Feature request: Could you implement the WMA-Codec into your build? (http://www.rockbox.org/tracker/task/4984)

  #112  
Old 04-25-2007, 12:53 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

i wanna install but I'm waiting for the next update

  #113  
Old 04-26-2007, 07:58 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by godess View Post
Feature request: Could you implement the WMA-Codec into your build? (http://www.rockbox.org/tracker/task/4984)
Although I don't use wma myself- I do like to give people choice. Implementing this feature depends highly on the completeness and quality of the decoding lib on that page (I have no experience with wma, the ARM architecture in general and ARM assembly). However, looking at the Rockbox developmental pages, integrating a new decoder (as long as the lib exist already) doesn't look that hard. I will need to test out the decoder first. Implementing this will take a while and there is no guarantee.

Charles

Last edited by cpchan; 04-26-2007 at 08:08 AM.

  #114  
Old 04-26-2007, 08:09 AM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

when will the next update be?

  #115  
Old 04-26-2007, 08:28 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cruleworld View Post
when will the next update be?
Sometime this evening. I usually do an update when:
  1. I have time.
  2. there are changes in the source tree that affects the Sansa.
  3. I see an interesting patch.
  4. (soon) If I want to implement something.

Charles

  #116  
Old 04-26-2007, 08:31 AM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

so the current one has all of the updates for the sansa?

  #117  
Old 04-26-2007, 08:47 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cruleworld View Post
so the current one has all of the updates for the sansa?
Yes. There have been only minor changes (not specifically for the Sansa) in the last couple of days.

Charles

  #118  
Old 04-26-2007, 11:52 AM
nechit nechit is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Default

This software is great, thank you man!
But i have one question, can you guve an instruction how to convert a video file using a testdasi method
"mencoder Hahaha.wmv -of mpeg -oac lavc -lavcopts acodec=mp2:abitrate=128 -af resample=44100:0:0 -ovc lavc -lavcopts vcodec=mpeg2video:vbitrate=256 -vf scale,harddup -ofps 12 -zoom -xy 220 -o Hahaha.mpg"

It works but framerate is really bad - 12 fps it's too bad.
Can you please advice normal setting for mencoder or maybe there's another good encoder?
Thanks anyway

  #119  
Old 04-26-2007, 03:32 PM
pyr0sphere's Avatar
pyr0sphere pyr0sphere is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 727
Default

Just dropped by to give an update.

If you remember, I posted a problem about the static? Well, it just occurred again today. So I guess it hasn't been fixed yet. However, the black bar problem has yet to appear

  #120  
Old 04-26-2007, 03:57 PM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nechit View Post
This software is great, thank you man!
But i have one question, can you guve an instruction how to convert a video file using a testdasi method
"mencoder Hahaha.wmv -of mpeg -oac lavc -lavcopts acodec=mp2:abitrate=128 -af resample=44100:0:0 -ovc lavc -lavcopts vcodec=mpeg2video:vbitrate=256 -vf scale,harddup -ofps 12 -zoom -xy 220 -o Hahaha.mpg"

It works but framerate is really bad - 12 fps it's too bad.
Can you please advice normal setting for mencoder or maybe there's another good encoder?
Thanks anyway
Change this to -ofps 15! 15 fps is fine, a nice trade of file size and frame rate.

Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.