android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Cowon iAudio > Cowon D2/D2+

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2007, 06:08 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default Cowon iAudio D2 - Anything But iPod Review

Here's our review of the Cowon iAudio D2, for those people that don't frequent the front page too often: http://www.anythingbutipod.com/archi...-d2-review.php
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-21-2007, 04:29 PM
saminthehat's Avatar
saminthehat saminthehat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Blighty
Posts: 285
Default

Nice, just one question. How are the start up times with an SD card inserted?
__________________
I AM SAM, SAM I AM
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-22-2007, 08:32 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Same as without, less than 3 seconds with a 4GB Transcend SD card, in my case.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-26-2007, 06:40 AM
neenee neenee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Default

It takes quite a while here (about 20-30 seconds) to load an
inserted card while my D2 is running.

But after loading it the first time, I think it has indexed the
contents of the card and it will start quicker, though still a
second slower than without the card.

The card I have tried is a 2GB Transcend.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-26-2007, 04:20 PM
rhdwave rhdwave is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Can u tell me which external mic was used in the review?
thanks
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-26-2007, 04:25 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

A cheap monophonic Sony mic.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-12-2007, 07:00 AM
sounddiver sounddiver is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Here's our review of the Cowon iAudio D2, for those people that don't frequent the front page too often: http://www.anythingbutipod.com/archi...-d2-review.php
hi dfkt,
i am new here to this forum, but did read allready a lot. and i think you know really anything about D2
may be you can help me with playlists on D2. i tried much but the only way witch is working for me is to add each title to the DPL, by time a bit hard.
the above mentioned review says: "Playlists are supported".
i read in serveral forum/posts, that playlists are not supported (except DPL), but the D2 menu says "playlist" (when pointing music/browser/music list/mode/music library/playlist).
questions:
- how do i work with this mode?
- how do i get playlist to this menu?
- i have a album folder structure. how do i get one komplete album (or all albums from one artist) to this playlist (even to the DPL)?

fw = 2.46

sorry for those "dummy"-questions, but i think i missed some relevant point in using playlists.

thx a lot
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-21-2007, 04:06 PM
Phoenix-X's Avatar
Phoenix-X Phoenix-X is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,027
Default

who knows how much the 8gb is going to cost? and when it will be out?
__________________
The rebel Rocker Phoenix has struck again
mp3-Samsung YP-P2(main) and an iPod Shuffle (RED) (Exercising/backup), Sansa m240 (backup of backup)
earphones-, Circuit City IEM's pretty good and at a low cost
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 03-25-2008, 11:25 AM
JanBo JanBo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1
Default

One comment for the fine review of the D2:
There is a commenent around "pitching the playback..... but I really don't see much use for it."
I can tell you that I have ordered the D2 8GB (1639 DKK) just because of the 'pitch', I will use it for dance lessons, to slow down the tempo of the music while learning a new dance.
I have been looking almost "all over" for a MP3 player with 'pitch' for the last year, and "Cowon iAudio" was the first player-family I have found with pitch.
I would guess thet the pitch function is fine for an aerobic-teacher also.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 04-04-2008, 06:56 PM
notatoad's Avatar
notatoad notatoad is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 16
Default

@janbo - all rockbox players support pitch/playback speed adjustment also.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 04-04-2008, 06:58 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

The D2 pitches only in 10% steps between 50 and 150%, so it's pretty rough. The Trekstor Vibez and all Rockboxed players have a finer tuned pitch control.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 04-21-2008, 05:14 PM
mobilelawyer mobilelawyer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 3
Default Do You Mean the 16 GB?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenix-X View Post
who knows how much the 8gb is going to cost? and when it will be out?
The 8GB has been out for a while and is readily available. No one has been able to confirm any availablity of the 16 GB model other than it is listed for pre- order on a German website.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 04-21-2008, 05:24 PM
VCVC's Avatar
VCVC VCVC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilelawyer View Post
The 8GB has been out for a while and is readily available.
I guess you didnt noticed but that question date is september 22... and that is about the time the 8gb D2 was released and the time i bought mine.
__________________
aka VClouds
My Sansa e200 Rockbox Themes: Energon, Sentinel, VClix
Cowon D2 8GB + Sandisk 8GB SDHC + Sennheiser PX100
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 05-01-2008, 07:04 PM
brsnyder brsnyder is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JanBo View Post
One comment for the fine review of the D2:
There is a commenent around "pitching the playback..... but I really don't see much use for it."
I can tell you that I have ordered the D2 8GB (1639 DKK) just because of the 'pitch', I will use it for dance lessons, to slow down the tempo of the music while learning a new dance.
I have been looking almost "all over" for a MP3 player with 'pitch' for the last year, and "Cowon iAudio" was the first player-family I have found with pitch.
I would guess thet the pitch function is fine for an aerobic-teacher also.
Maybe it's a language thing, but I find that changing the playback speed does not change the pitch. Someone reading a book sounds like a chipmunk at anything over 110%. My old Creative Jukebox did adjust the pitch as speed changed. Is there really a way to do this on the D2???

-- Barbara
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 05-01-2008, 07:06 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brsnyder View Post
Maybe it's a language thing, but I find that changing the playback speed does not change the pitch. Someone reading a book sounds like a chipmunk at anything over 110%. My old Creative Jukebox did adjust the pitch as speed changed. Is there really a way to do this on the D2???

-- Barbara
Why not just buy a Alvin & The Chipmunks CD
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 05-01-2008, 07:12 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

I don't know of any current player that's able to time-stretch without pitch alteration... does one actually exist nowadays? If the old Creative Jukebox could do it, it should be no problem for today's faster processors.

The D2 certainly doesn't do it, neither does any other player I know of.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 05-01-2008, 07:29 PM
Xenodius's Avatar
Xenodius Xenodius is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tater state, USA
Posts: 649
Default

Hold a second-- the D2 has speed control? Where is this setting?

When I was considering the D2, I was told it had crossfeed as well-- but I never found that.

Where do you set that stuff up at?? Am I just retarded? xD
__________________
The above is opinionated and as such, incredibly biased. Taking any of the above as fact is punishable to the full extent of the law, up to and including death.

When I get sad, I stop being sad and be awesome again. True story. -Barney Stinson
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 05-01-2008, 07:35 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Speed change is in the Jeteffects menu, near the bottom: "Play speed".

If you really mean "crossfeed", that would be the "Stereo Enhance" and "3D Surround" BBE settings... if you actually mean "crossfade", the D2 doesn't have that.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 05-01-2008, 08:27 PM
Xenodius's Avatar
Xenodius Xenodius is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tater state, USA
Posts: 649
Default

Oh okay-- I guess I didn't notice the Play speed setting since I have no use for it, I must have dismissed it. Thanks for the FYI!

Yeah, I did mean crossfeed... I'll have to play around 3Ds and SE once I get my HFI-780's, I admit I have abandoned my D2 for the moment since my X3i's sound too horrible now =p
__________________
The above is opinionated and as such, incredibly biased. Taking any of the above as fact is punishable to the full extent of the law, up to and including death.

When I get sad, I stop being sad and be awesome again. True story. -Barney Stinson
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 08-11-2008, 04:20 PM
lynnux lynnux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Default

I'd like some clarification on the 'speed control' feature, the posts are a little confusing.

Can I or can I not slow down a music track while keeping the pitch the same? In other words, the tempo (speed) would be slower but the notes would sound the same, rather than sounding deeper or lower-pitched?

I'd find this very useful for learning music on my instrument of choice, as I learn by ear from recordings of fast-paced music. Too fast to learn from at the original speed, so I like to slow it down. There's software that will do this, but having it built into my player would be great!

Also, how's the quality of the microphone, especially using the external mic? Good enough for recording live music to learn from or share with others?
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
cowon, cowon d2, d2, review

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.