android
Old 04-11-2013, 11:44 AM

Default Sony MDR-NC500D "review"

Preface

The MDR-NC500D retailed for $350 CAD. As a long-time customer of the local Sony Style, I obtained these headphones, brand new and all, for $150. I will try to review these headphones from a $150 point of view. Just food for thought.

Introduction

Just about nobody talks about noise-canceling headphones when it comes to "serious listening". This is absolutely not without reason as the circuitry in these headphones almost always mess with the sounds in all kinds of interesting ways. I once proposed a multi-driver design - one for the music and one for the anti-phase signal - but as I am not an acoustic engineer, that design is likely to never see the light of day.

People usually choose IEMs for noise-isolating purposes. My personal experience with IEMs is enough for me to summarize the following points, aka. why IEMs don't work for me:

• I spend little time walking on the streets and much time in transportation vehicles. IEMs block irregular street noise very well but they do jack against petrol/diesel engines, railroad track gaps and turboreactors (jet engines).
  • My ear canals might be more sensitive than average. Sony Hybrid tips work the best for me and even then they cause itching after about half an hour of usage.
  • I somehow cannot manage to breathe correctly while wearing IEMs (or earplugs, really). This forces me to remain relatively stationary while using them, which more or less defeats their purpose.
I have tried several supra- and circum-aural headphones. While being closed, most of these do not isolate noise despite some of them carrying the "PRO" or "DJ" mark. They include the Sennheiser HD215, HD280, HD380 and Sony MDR-V700DJ. I tried also Ultrasones when I was at B&H.

Noise canceling headphones to the rescue!

MDR-NC500D