android
Old 12-05-2012, 08:09 AM

Default Flac to lossy conversion

Now that I have the player/headphone setup I wanted I think it's time to set up my library a little better. A big chunk (probably 80%) of these are in Flac files.

My question is would it be worth my time to unpack those into wav files before converting to a lossy format? Or will it be just as good going straight from flac to lossy?

Also I have not decided on mp3, aac or ogg, so if any of these poses a significant advantage I'm not aware of, let me know. I'm a bit new to all this. My preferred software is MusicBee if that makes any difference.

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 12-05-2012, 08:24 AM
Ultra Senior Member

Straight from FLAC to lossy is fine. Just make sure you're conversion is going to a new location , so you don't lose your FLAC archive.

I use LAME MP3, mainly because I know MP3 will play on pretty much any device I get.(can't hurt to future-proof)

Old 12-05-2012, 09:01 AM
Administrator

There's no need to manually create .wav files. Temporary conversion to .wav happens as part of the encoding process. It's an internal process you don't see so it's not obvious it occurs, but it does.

The presets in MusicBee are set around the general guidelines for transparency http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index....e=Transparency so if you pick the High Quality setting you should be good. If you prefer to save space on your portable player the Portable Device setting will produce files that will do that and more often than not won't have an objectionable amount of audible artifacts.