android
Old 09-14-2012, 08:22 AM

Default iriver H340: new hard disk won't ever boot up

I recently replaced the defunct 40 gb hard drive with an 80gb one, listed as one of those compatible with this player (Toshiba MK8007GAH). Have formatted the new disc in FAT32 using various tools (incl. Swissknife). PC recognises disk when USB connected, I can transfer files to it with no problem.
BUT iriver player does not ever boot up the disk, constantly gives CHECK HDD CONNECTION error. It also seems to refuse to upgrade firmware, even when I try transferring the H300.hex file to the player - it just ignores the upgrade request. When I try to use the Rockbox software also on the player this gives various ATA errors (usually -11).
I have another similar player, and its 40gb hard disk works fine in this player too, so neither the player nor the new hard disk seem to be the issue - just the software connectivity between the two...
I'm not very technical - is there something fairly simple I'm missing?? None of the electronic shops/technicians I've contacted seems to want to have anything to do with these players. I'm at my wit's end. Thanks for reading.

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 09-16-2012, 05:06 PM

Hi Powysa

First thing to check is that its not a apple branded drive. They have a apple logo on the lower left corner as shown below.

Also if the drive was purchased as a used drive it may have been fitted to a ipod as a replacement drive and formatted to suit.
Ipod drives have a extra partition for the firmware which makes them unsuitable for use in iriver players. I do recall some getting them to work but also remember a lot of failures.

Things I'd try are to

1) Do a full format with windows to another type of file system (eg: ntfs) and then reformat back to FAT32.

2) If you know somebody with a apple computer get them to format the drive for you.