android
  #1  
Old 06-27-2011, 05:25 AM
Loserfish Loserfish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 27
Default C2 Firmware on D2+?

Hey Guys,

just wanted to open the discussion if we may see the C2 Firmware (so basically the new UI) ported to the D2/D2+ product-line any time soon.

I would really love to see this happen, as the new UI looks quite appealing to me.
But since I have no idea about the internal differences between the two products I wanted to ask you guys what you think about the possibilities.


Best regards,
Loserfish
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-27-2011, 03:31 PM
Mr. Popo's Avatar
Mr. Popo Mr. Popo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 473
Default

I would love to see this too, however I would imagine that they are different enough internally, although I have no proof of this other than the presence of the speaker, that they would be incompatible. Then again knowing Cowon, they could very well be nearly identical hardware wise.
__________________
Cowon J3 + AKG K518 LE
Herp Derp
http://tinyurl.com/4n73b6a
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-27-2011, 03:42 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

The output specs, at least on paper, are different. I'm pretty sure I read 29mw/ch for the C2(just like my i9) and the D2 was 37mw/ch. This, plus the different card slot and the speaker, is the extent of the hardware differences that I'm aware of.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-27-2011, 03:49 PM
Mr. Popo's Avatar
Mr. Popo Mr. Popo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 473
Default

Doesn't that mean that it has a different audio processor? I don't really know a whole lot about this stuff, but I think that with a different card slot, someone would have to code a driver for the one on the D2 unless the one written originally for it could be re-used.
__________________
Cowon J3 + AKG K518 LE
Herp Derp
http://tinyurl.com/4n73b6a
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-27-2011, 04:05 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Popo View Post
Doesn't that mean that it has a different audio processor? I don't really know a whole lot about this stuff, but I think that with a different card slot, someone would have to code a driver for the one on the D2 unless the one written originally for it could be re-used.
I couldn't say....that's beyond my electronic knowledge. Maybe dfkt or saratoga could answer that one, but not me.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 06-29-2011, 02:48 PM
Mr. Popo's Avatar
Mr. Popo Mr. Popo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 473
Default

http://iaudiophile.net/forums/showth...387#post316387
__________________
Cowon J3 + AKG K518 LE
Herp Derp
http://tinyurl.com/4n73b6a
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-13-2011, 04:47 PM
Loserfish Loserfish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 27
Default

This just made my day!

Quite a dragon slayer you are Mr.Popo

Sry for getting back on this so late though.

Last edited by Loserfish; 07-13-2011 at 04:54 PM.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.