android
  #1  
Old 09-07-2010, 04:28 AM
deax's Avatar
deax deax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 25
Default Philips Go Gear 8gb not loud enough

Hey,

does anyone know if there is a (hacked) Firmware for the GoGear which allows to set the max. Volume higher?
I don't want to edit every single MP3-File :x

thanks,
__________________
epithetless:
"There is no life without Rockbox."
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-13-2010, 01:35 PM
Henko Henko is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Default

I've just updated to Firmware 2.63. According to Philips:Benefits

1. Fixed Hang-up during startup

2. Fixed corruption problem during MTP mode file transfer

3. Increased volume level for FullSound On <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-13-2010, 03:21 PM
rohit3192 rohit3192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Left Abi because of Adub
Posts: 412
Default

If there is "volume limit" option set that to max.
Upgrade firmware.
no other remedy I know

Edit:
I have upgraded my firmware and yes sound volume is increased.
The firmware can be upgraded through Philips songbird software.
Put your player in MSC mode if update firware error while in MTP mode.
Locate your player on left pane of songbird>philips player >tools>upgrade firmware.

@Henko:
I liked the arrows pointing towards 3rd point

Last edited by rohit3192; 10-15-2010 at 10:21 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-28-2012, 09:29 PM
prankstare prankstare is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
I've just updated to Firmware 2.63.

How did you update to version 2.63?

I have a Sa3ara08k/97 and all that Songbird gives me is firmware update version 2.06.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 02-12-2012, 11:52 PM
Kawl Kawl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Default

hey does anyone know if there's an alternative/manual way to upgrade the firmware? i get an error message with Songbird all the time... :/
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 02-13-2012, 04:14 AM
prankstare prankstare is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Kawl,

The firmware update for this device is rather messy and worky. I don't quite remember how I did it exactly, but you could try do it in repair mode and see if it helps.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 02-11-2013, 11:16 AM
Vladex Vladex is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Default

I have a SA4VBE08KF/12 . and songbird tells me the last update is 11.1. and the volume is soo low . any advice ?
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 02-11-2013, 12:54 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,361
Default

Welcome to ABi

Looking up that model it appears to be a EU version of the GoGear Vibe. As I don't have one I can't be sure but I'd guess the issue is the firmware is limiting the volume according to the region. If there's a way to reset that to a region other than the EU, that may help. Look for a way to reset the player and choose another region.

I don't believe you can change your region in Songbird but if you can that may also be a way to access a firmware that isn't volume limited. This thread is a couple years old and what Songbird does may have changed in that time.

Philips products also have a volume limiting app called SafeSound. If that's active disabling that may help.

Remember, this is coming from someone that doesn't have the player you're asking about. I'm guessing based on experience with other players that have firmware updates that remove the EU limits like Cowon and sandisk products. None of this is guaranteed to help and trying to install a different firmware may actually brick your player. Consider that before you start trying to make changes based on my advice.

If you're not able to get around any volume limit that may be in place you may want to get an amp. Something like the Fiio E6 gives a clean boost of 6 dB and shouldn't break the bank. In most cases that's enough of an increase to bring the volume to an acceptable level.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 08-24-2014, 03:42 AM
ausmus ausmus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Default problem fixed

Try using a better earphone/ headphone rather than the standard one received with the go gear.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 08-25-2014, 09:47 AM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,503
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ausmus View Post
Try using a better earphone/ headphone rather than the standard one received with the go gear.
You do realize that the original inquiry was posted almost 4 years ago, right?
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 PM.