android
  #1  
Old 01-09-2010, 05:09 AM
iampiti iampiti is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Default YP-R0 forgetting saved radio stations

Hi!
My new YP-R0 seems to forget the saved radio stations. It usually happens the next day: I memorize some radio stations, use the player normally during the day and the next morning, when I turn it on the aren't any saved stations.
The player keeps the rest of the settings so I know it hasn't been reset completely. It has firmware 1.10 EU-00-IK4.
Has anything like this happen to any of you?

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-11-2010, 01:07 PM
iampiti iampiti is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Default

Booted up this morning and the player freezed when selected the radio icon. Turned it on again and it did a sort of hardware checkup (like windows after a failed boot lol).
So...it looks to me like a hardware failure. I guess the memory where it stores the radio station presets is damaged and the player is unable to read it after it turns completely off.
I Hope they exchange it on the shop I bought it without creating trouble
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-14-2010, 05:20 AM
PepeM PepeM is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Hi iampiti,

Quote:
Originally Posted by iampiti View Post
Hi!
My new YP-R0 seems to forget the saved radio stations. It usually happens the next day: I memorize some radio stations, use the player normally during the day and the next morning, when I turn it on the aren't any saved stations.
The player keeps the rest of the settings so I know it hasn't been reset completely. It has firmware 1.10 EU-00-IK4.
Has anything like this happen to any of you?

Thanks!!
Same thing here with a new 32GB R1 that I got myself for Crhistmas. Every two or three startups, all radio presets are lost. All other settings seem to be preserved.

This R1 used to be a FR unit that I switched to EU and to firmware 3. I hardly used it before these changes, so I don't know if the problem is related to them.

Pepe
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-14-2010, 05:40 AM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,605
Default

Okay, I'll check it myself on my R0 and R1 and if I confirm the problem, I'll tell the R&D to fix it in the next firmware
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-14-2010, 07:12 AM
PepeM PepeM is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Lebellium,

Quote:
Originally Posted by lebellium View Post
Okay, I'll check it myself on my R0 and R1 and if I confirm the problem, I'll tell the R&D to fix it in the next firmware
Merci bien,

Pepe
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-14-2010, 12:43 PM
iampiti iampiti is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Default

I went to the shop where I bought it yesterday and changed it for a 16 Gb version (they didn't have any more 8gb players). And...this one behaves exactly the same. I very much doubt both players have hw faults so...could it be a software bug?. This one has firmware 1.03 by the way.
Lebellium It'd be great if you could contact someone at Samsung and get some info about what might be happening.
Thanks!!
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-16-2010, 05:33 AM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,605
Default

Okay, I confirm the problem on the R0. However my R1 kept presets in mind.
iampiti, could you try again with the firmware 3.00 please?
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-16-2010, 01:54 PM
iampiti iampiti is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lebellium View Post
Okay, I confirm the problem on the R0. However my R1 kept presets in mind.
iampiti, could you try again with the firmware 3.00 please?
Firmware 3.00? Which one do you mean? AFAIK there's only 1.03, 1.07 and 1.10.
My first R0 had the problem with 1.10 and the second (current) one exhibited the problem too with 1.03 (which was the FW it had from the factory). I have upgraded it to 1.10.

More info: I have confirmed it happens only when booting up from off state not from standby...but it doesn't happen every time. The manual says holding the on/off/lock button for 10 seconds resets the player...maybe this has to do something with our problem.

Greets.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-16-2010, 02:10 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,605
Default

Sorry, I meant PepeM
As I said, I confirm the problem for R0 but not for R1.
PepeM could you try again with your R1 before I sent an email to the R&D please
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-16-2010, 08:14 PM
PepeM PepeM is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Hi lebellium

Quote:
Originally Posted by lebellium View Post
Sorry, I meant PepeM
As I said, I confirm the problem for R0 but not for R1.
PepeM could you try again with your R1 before I sent an email to the R&D please
I think I've found something. Whenever I plug the R1 to the computer while the R1 is off, radio presets are lost. If I plug the R1 while it's still on, presets are not lost. This happens both in MSC and MTP mode. Can you confirm?

Also, I have noticed that this unit is drainig the battery even when it's turned off, not only blocked, but off. Yesterday, for instance, I charged it to 100% and turned it off. 24 hours later, when I turned it on again, the battery charge was at 4%. Turned it off and on again, then went through the "recovering firmware" routine... and presets are lost again. I don't know if these are related. The "recovering firmware" happens only occasionally so I haven't still been able to check if it always erases the radio presets. The rest of the settings seem to be preserved after the firmware recovery.

All these tests have been done with a new FR unit (firmware 1.*) modified to EU and then upgraded to firmware 3.0.

Pepe

Last edited by PepeM; 01-16-2010 at 08:15 PM. Reason: Misspelling lebellium. Sorry!
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 01-17-2010, 10:39 AM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PepeM View Post
Hi lebellium



I think I've found something. Whenever I plug the R1 to the computer while the R1 is off, radio presets are lost. If I plug the R1 while it's still on, presets are not lost. This happens both in MSC and MTP mode. Can you confirm?
In fw 3.00, that doesn't happen with mine!

Quote:
Also, I have noticed that this unit is drainig the battery even when it's turned off, not only blocked, but off. Yesterday, for instance, I charged it to 100% and turned it off. 24 hours later, when I turned it on again, the battery charge was at 4%. Turned it off and on again, then went through the "recovering firmware" routine... and presets are lost again. I don't know if these are related. The "recovering firmware" happens only occasionally so I haven't still been able to check if it always erases the radio presets. The rest of the settings seem to be preserved after the firmware recovery.

All these tests have been done with a new FR unit (firmware 1.*) modified to EU and then upgraded to firmware 3.00.

Pepe
My R1 in 3.00 keeps preset after a recovering firmware...

I really do not understand what happens with yours.

So I can only send an email to the R&D for the R0 sorry
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*

Last edited by lebellium; 01-17-2010 at 10:45 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 01-17-2010, 03:50 PM
PepeM PepeM is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Default

lebellium,

Quote:
Originally Posted by lebellium View Post
In fw 3.00, that doesn't happen with mine!
I'm narrowing this thing: radio presets are lost if I turn off the R1 while listening to the radio and then plug it to the computer. If I turn it off while listening to music or podcasts and then plug it to the computer, radio presets are not lost. Plugging the R1 to the computer while it's on never loses the presets. And it's consistent. I can reproduce this behaviour every time.

Also, sometimes, when unplugging the R1 from the computer, and even if all I have done is let it sit there for charging, no files interchanged, it says "updating DB" or something similar and takes a few seconds to go from 0% to 100%. I haven't still noticed wether this has any relation to losing radio presets.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lebellium View Post
My R1 in 3.00 keeps preset after a recovering firmware...

I really do not understand what happens with yours.

So I can only send an email to the R&D for the R0 sorry
I don't know what happens either. When I plug it in the computer in MSC mode, it tells me to update my Windows Media Player, but I have version 11 installed and Windows says I have the latest and greatest. Do you think there's something wrong with my unit or just a bug in the R1?

Anyway, let's hope that you can reproduce my problem and report it to Samsung or that the root cause is the same one as with the R0 and that curing one will cure the other.

Thanks again for the trouble you take to get these problems sorted out for us,

PepeM
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 01-17-2010, 05:01 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PepeM View Post
lebellium,



I'm narrowing this thing: radio presets are lost if I turn off the R1 while listening to the radio and then plug it to the computer. If I turn it off while listening to music or podcasts and then plug it to the computer, radio presets are not lost. Plugging the R1 to the computer while it's on never loses the presets. And it's consistent. I can reproduce this behaviour every time.
Okay, now you precise your turn off while listening to radio I can confirm, it losts preset I'll send another email

Quote:
Also, sometimes, when unplugging the R1 from the computer, and even if all I have done is let it sit there for charging, no files interchanged, it says "updating DB" or something similar and takes a few seconds to go from 0% to 100%. I haven't still noticed wether this has any relation to losing radio presets.
If I do not modify anything on the R1, it doesn't say that. Updating DB is only when you add or modify a file on the mP3 player. Normaly...
But that's not much important



Quote:
I don't know what happens either. When I plug it in the computer in MSC mode, it tells me to update my Windows Media Player, but I have version 11 installed and Windows says I have the latest and greatest. Do you think there's something wrong with my unit or just a bug in the R1?
In MTP mode I would understand that as drivers come from WMP but in MSC/UMS mode I do not understand at all
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 01-22-2010, 08:48 AM
iampiti iampiti is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Default

Hi! My R0 seems to forget the radio presets in very similar circumstances as what Pepe explains with his R1. They're probably using very simliar software.
Things are like this: If I turn the player off while listening to the radio and then turn it on after a time long enough so it has completely turn off the radio presets are lost. If I do the same but I had turn it off while listening to mp3 files the presets are kept. I haven't done many times yet but so far this is consistent.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 01-24-2010, 04:39 PM
PepeM PepeM is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Hi iampiti,

Quote:
Originally Posted by iampiti View Post
Hi! My R0 seems to forget the radio presets in very similar circumstances as what Pepe explains with his R1. They're probably using very simliar software.
Things are like this: If I turn the player off while listening to the radio and then turn it on after a time long enough so it has completely turn off the radio presets are lost. If I do the same but I had turn it off while listening to mp3 files the presets are kept. I haven't done many times yet but so far this is consistent.
I'm still trying to understand when it turns off and when it stays in standby mode. Sometimes, when I turn it on, it shows "SAMSUNG" for some time, then goes to the "R1" screen for a few more seconds and then lands you in home page. Another times, when I turn it on, it goes right into the "R1" screen and, almost immediately to home page. It looks as if, in the first case, the R1 is really OFF while in the second it's been in standby instead. At first, I thought that, when you turned the R1 off, it stayed in standby for some time and then went to OFF, but no, it's happened to me that after being turned off for many hours it woke up rapidly, as if in standby.

I'm also wondering whether there's any relation between these OFF vs Standby modes and the amount of battery it uses while supposedly off. On one accasion, it went from 100% to 4% in 24 hours while off. This weekend, in 48 hours, it's gone from 100% to 96% battery. I can't remember about the other time, but this time, it's done the whole startup routine with "SAMSUNG" screen.

As for the radio presets, I haven't yet noticed a relation between staying a long time OFF and lost presets. I'll try to keep an eye on it.

Best,

Pepe
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 01-25-2010, 02:45 PM
iampiti iampiti is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
I'm still trying to understand when it turns off and when it stays in standby mode. Sometimes, when I turn it on, it shows "SAMSUNG" for some time, then goes to the "R1" screen for a few more seconds and then lands you in home page. Another times, when I turn it on, it goes right into the "R1" screen and, almost immediately to home page. It looks as if, in the first case, the R1 is really OFF while in the second it's been in standby instead. At first, I thought that, when you turned the R1 off, it stayed in standby for some time and then went to OFF, but no, it's happened to me that after being turned off for many hours it woke up rapidly, as if in standby.
Yes, that's what i meant: fully off when it takes a long time to boot up, standby when it goes right into the player name (r0 in my case ).
On my old Z5 it went like this: The player stayed in standby until it was untouched for 24 hours then it went completely off.
I haven't done any measurements but it seemed to me that the battery drained too fast too so the "erratic" standby/off behaviour might be another bug.

Quote:
I'm also wondering whether there's any relation between these OFF vs Standby modes and the amount of battery it uses while supposedly off. On one accasion, it went from 100% to 4% in 24 hours while off. This weekend, in 48 hours, it's gone from 100% to 96% battery. I can't remember about the other time, but this time, it's done the whole startup routine with "SAMSUNG" screen.
And yes to the battery consumption rate too: The reason the player goes from standby to completely off after being a long time without being used is because in standby spends more energy. So the time when it used very little battery in two days the player was completely off and when you noticed the battery draining very fast the player was probably just in standby.

Because of everything we've talked so far, at this point I really believe the r0 and r1 are using the same software (firmware) since they share many behaviours and bugs .
I hope a new firmware corrects the bugs in both players.

greets.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 02-01-2010, 10:43 AM
ad959 ad959 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tyrone
Posts: 2
Default Ro losing preset radio

I have the same issue with the RO. Great little player BTW with the exception of that irritating bug. Surely by now it is a known problem (including, I see, the R1 !!) and Samsung are working on a fix?
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 02-02-2010, 04:33 AM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,605
Default

The R&D did not find this bug because my contact simplified the issue while translating into english and because the R&D guy tested it in firmware 2.00 on the R1

So I gave further details directly in english. Hope the R&D will find the problem this time. Maybe it won't be fixed in the next firmware (normaly a firmware fixing the iTunes AAC support will be released soon) but in the next one it should be fixed
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 05-10-2010, 01:13 AM
headache5678's Avatar
headache5678 headache5678 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 25
Default

Hello PepeM and Lebellium,

I have Firmware VER 3.03 EU-00-JB1 (Touch 45) Release Date 2010.02.05 and, seeing your posts I changed my PC Connection option from MTP to MSC a few minutes ago.

I have two issues, the same as PepeM, these are:
  1. Although I have the latest version of Windows Media Player (11.0.6002.18111) that is available for my Vista 32-bit PC, the R1 tells me to load the latest version of WMP whenever I connect it to my PC.
  2. The R1 still loses FM radio presents and I cannot see any particular reason why it is doing so.
Is there anything I can try to fix the problems e.g. try Firmware 3.04 ?

Thank you
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 02-02-2010, 02:15 PM
iampiti iampiti is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Default

@Lebellium Many thanks for helping with this!!!
@ad959 As I said in previous posts, if you turn off the player while NOT listening to the radio the presets are preserved. You can use this until the problem is fixed.
Offtopic: The r0 seems to have vanished completely from the stores around where I live (Valencia, Spain) I wonder why. Last weekend I went to a popular electronics store and there were loads of samsung players (Q2's¿still?,CP3 and R1's) but no R0's
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.