android
  #1  
Old 05-07-2008, 08:04 AM
JK98 JK98 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,057
Default Sansa View vs Fuze

How do these compare as far as sound quality and features? Does the View really get 50% more run time for audio than the Fuze? I see the 8 gig View sells for $125(B&H Photo) If the View is better than the Fuze, then why pay $100 for a 4 gig Fuze or $130 for an 8 gig Fuze if the 8 gig View is just $125? Perhaps after the Fuze is out for a while, it may be discounted from the full price? I guess the full price on the 8 gig View is probably much higher than $125?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-07-2008, 08:06 AM
A.z's Avatar
A.z A.z is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,349
Default

The Fuze has way better SQ.
Don't know about the run time, but the SQ on the Fuze is way better then the View.
__________________
You got that rainbow feel...
But the rainbow has a beard

My Last.fm
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-07-2008, 10:16 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

The Sansa View works better for videos, but there is a few bugs tho too.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-22-2008, 07:33 AM
punchy punchy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Default

The Fuze uses the Sansa Clip's excellent sounding audio chipset. The View cannot make that boast. The View is more oriented toward video. The Fuze is more oriented toward sound! Which is most important to you?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-27-2008, 01:46 AM
V3ndetta's Avatar
V3ndetta V3ndetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 196
Default

Go Fuze!!
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 10-05-2008, 08:10 PM
chume chume is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10
Default

I too am considering getting a View or a Fuse. I currently have an e270 (v1) which I am very pleased with. I understand the e200 series limitations on video but that feature has been satisfactory for me despite its flaws. I've read mixed reviews on the View where it supposedly has some bugs regarding video,stability, and battery life. Have most of those bugs been fixed for the most part with the latest firmware? Looking online, I've found it hard to find a case for it similar Griffon's iClear for the e200 series from companies I've actually heard of. Also, as the Fuze is very similar to the e200 series (essentially being an updated version of the same thing with some welcome enhancements), will the Fuze work accessories designed for the e200 series (e.g. I have a base station that works with my e270 - is that compatible with the Fuze or for that matter even the View and will my Griffon iClear fit the Fuze or even the View?) Thanks.

Last edited by chume; 10-05-2008 at 08:10 PM. Reason: Fixed typos.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 10-05-2008, 08:51 PM
curiouswonderer's Avatar
curiouswonderer curiouswonderer is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: vancouver, bc
Posts: 1,316
Default

i would go for the fuze, because you asked to compare sound quality (fuze is clearlt superior)....

and as for features (im assuimg like extras?), they are both equaly lacking. no text reader, custom themes, games, etc....
__________________
"I don't think, therefore I am not"
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 10-06-2008, 02:17 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Chume, the e200 cases will not work on the Fuze or View. I have only got small video issues with my View. The dock accessories from the e200 will work on Fuze and View.

Last edited by advcomp2019; 10-06-2008 at 11:51 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 10-06-2008, 08:34 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

x2 fuze, could be rockbox'd down the line, read here, just refrain from posting there, unless you can offer help, contribute useful information, donate hardware, etc ... etc ... etc
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 05-18-2010, 04:38 AM
jamwaffles jamwaffles is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Just an update on the RockBox fuze firmware: they have got the Fuze v1 hardware supported and are working on the Fuze v2 hardware. I check the SVN mailing list everyday and there is always at least one entry about the Fuze v2 - stay tuned.

Also, thanks for clearing up the Fuze Vs. View - It's helped a lot and I will definitely be getting a fuze!

James
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 05-19-2010, 01:05 AM
chaos1234 chaos1234 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NJ,USA
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamwaffles View Post
Just an update on the RockBox fuze firmware: they have got the Fuze v1 hardware supported and are working on the Fuze v2 hardware. I check the SVN mailing list everyday and there is always at least one entry about the Fuze v2 - stay tuned.
James
The FuzeV2 basically works. I've been using it for about a week without problems, it is listed as unstable on the RockBox site cause there are still some minor bugs that need patching and it has to be manually installed (not very difficult) for the time being.

Edit link to Fuze V2 rockbox thread
http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...t=49274&page=6

Last edited by chaos1234; 05-19-2010 at 01:09 AM. Reason: Link to Fuze v2 rockbox thread
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 05-19-2010, 03:04 AM
jamwaffles jamwaffles is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chaos1234 View Post
The FuzeV2 basically works. I've been using it for about a week without problems, it is listed as unstable on the RockBox site cause there are still some minor bugs that need patching and it has to be manually installed (not very difficult) for the time being.

Edit link to Fuze V2 rockbox thread
http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...t=49274&page=6
Ah thanks very much for the info - I myself was wondering how close to being finished the FuzeV2 firmware was. Silver Fuze 8GB silver off Amazon for me then ;P

James
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 07-16-2010, 12:55 AM
Illbashu Illbashu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chaos1234 View Post
The FuzeV2 basically works. I've been using it for about a week without problems, it is listed as unstable on the RockBox site cause there are still some minor bugs that need patching and it has to be manually installed (not very difficult) for the time being.

Edit link to Fuze V2 rockbox thread
http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...t=49274&page=6
That post is from 2008...
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.