android
  #1  
Old 04-26-2008, 11:58 PM
moto moto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Default creating playlists

I'm using MediaMonkey to create playlists for my fuze. The playlist does show up on the fuze but when i select it it's just empty and no songs are selected. can anyone help me? i'm saving all the playlist files (m3u files) in a separate folder called "playlists", if that matters.

thanks.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-27-2008, 03:19 PM
Skinjob Skinjob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 241
Default

It sounds like the paths in the playlists are not correct. The paths to the individual files in the playlist must be relative to the location of the playlist. In other words if your playlists are in \playlists and all you music files are in artist and album folders under \music then the paths inside the m3u files need to look like ..\music\SomeArtist\SomeAlbum\SomeTrack.mp3.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-27-2008, 07:46 PM
moto moto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Default

the path on the m3u files seems to be correct. this is how the folders are structured in my fuze:

fuze
|
|_ [Music] _ [Artist] - Title.mp3
|
|_ [Playlists] - playlist.m3u
|
|_ [video]

..and so on.

the paths in the m3u looks says \music\artist\title.mp3.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-28-2008, 12:56 PM
Skinjob Skinjob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moto View Post
the path on the m3u files seems to be correct. this is how the folders are structured in my fuze:

fuze
|
|_ [Music] _ [Artist] - Title.mp3
|
|_ [Playlists] - playlist.m3u
|
|_ [video]

..and so on.

the paths in the m3u looks says \music\artist\title.mp3.
It looks like the problem I described. The example path you gave is relative to the root of the player, not relative to the location of the playlist. Even though the path you gave is valid, the player basically tacks on the location of the playlist to the beginning of all the paths in the playlist.

So in your example, \music\artist\title.mp3 would become \playlists\music\artist\title.mp3. Which of course is not valid.

Try changing the path to ..\music\artist\title.mp3. That would become \playlists\..\music\artist\title.mp3, which is valid. Although I don't know for sure if the "..\" notation is supported, I've never tried it.

As a simpler test you could move your playlist to the root of the player and just remove the leading backslash from the paths. Then music\artist\title.mp3 would become \music\artist\title.mp3. That definitely works.

I use a \Music\Artist\Album style folder structure and I keep my playlists in the \Music folder. So my paths all look like Album\Artist\Track.mp3.

Hopefully you get the idea now.

BTW, I use Winamp to sync, which always creates absolute paths like your first example. I ended up having to create a little batch file to fix the paths in the playlists after syncing. I used the amusingly named FART (Find and Replace Tool): http://sourceforge.net/projects/fart-it/. It's a free command line tool to replace or remove text in a text file. You might want to check it out.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-28-2008, 06:51 AM
Javier78's Avatar
Javier78 Javier78 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 94
Default

I don't think the Fuze supports m3u playlists. Try syncing them with Windows media player.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-29-2008, 02:35 AM
moto moto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Default

thanks for the detailed reply. i will experiment when i get the time and get back at you.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-29-2008, 10:22 PM
moto moto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Default

just moved the m3u file to the root, so it kinda looks like this:

[fuze] - playlist.m3u
|
|_ [Music] _ [Artist] - Title.mp3
|
|_ [video]

the m3u files says

/music/artist/title.mp3

but it still shows up as a blank playlist on the fuze. also tried modifying the m3u file so it says

music/artist/title.mp3, ../music/artist/title.mp3, etc. but it's still showing up blank.

maybe the fuze isn't compatible with m3u files like javier said?

by the way, how do i get rid of the songs that are pre-loaded on the fuze??
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 04-30-2008, 11:36 AM
Skinjob Skinjob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moto View Post
just moved the m3u file to the root, so it kinda looks like this:

[fuze] - playlist.m3u
|
|_ [Music] _ [Artist] - Title.mp3
|
|_ [video]

the m3u files says

/music/artist/title.mp3

but it still shows up as a blank playlist on the fuze. also tried modifying the m3u file so it says

music/artist/title.mp3, ../music/artist/title.mp3, etc. but it's still showing up blank.

maybe the fuze isn't compatible with m3u files like javier said?
Hmmm, in your tree above, when you say "|_ [Music] _ [Artist] - Title.mp3", I assume [Artist] is actually a sub folder of [Music], right?

With the playlist is in the root, it should look like this:

playlist.m3u
\Music
\Artist
Track1.mp3
Track2.mp3
Track3.mp3
In which case, the paths in the playlist should look like:
Music\Artist\Track1.mp3
Music\Artist\Track2.mp3
Music\Artist\Track3.mp3

I noticed your example paths above have forward slashes "/" instead of back slashes "\". Is that actually case? If so, try changing to back slashes.

I don't actually have a Fuze, but m3u playlists work as I described on my 4GB Clip. My understanding is that the Fuze has exactly the same playlist capability as the Clip. Also, the behavior you're seeing (playlist shows up but appears blank) is exactly what I saw on my Clip when the paths in the playlist were not correct. So I still suspect there has to be something wrong with the paths in your playlist.

Quote:
Originally Posted by moto View Post
by the way, how do i get rid of the songs that are pre-loaded on the fuze??
Make sure the Fuze is in MTP mode, then just delete everything using Windows Explorer. Your computer will only see the files that were added under the current USB mode. In other words, your computer can't see files that were added in MTP mode if your are currently connected in MSC mode (and viceversa). I believe the player iteself will see all the files added in either mode.

However, I'm not sure if m3u playlists work in MTP mode. I don't currently have my Clip to try it. Maybe that's the problem? I only use MSC mode. What USB mode are you using?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 04-30-2008, 07:01 AM
Javier78's Avatar
Javier78 Javier78 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 94
Default

Just delete them on Windows Explorer. I'm not sure what USB mode you have to go into to see the files though.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 05-01-2008, 12:09 AM
moto moto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Default

I was creating .m3u files in MSC mode. once i switched to MTP mode, MediaMonkey automatically made playlists in .pla files and now they are working properly..

the slashes in the .m3u files were in the proper direction (back slashes). i suppose i could live with using MTP mode.. it's not as bad as i heard it was.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 05-01-2008, 10:13 AM
Skinjob Skinjob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 241
Default

Hmmm. It really should work. Do you have the latest firmware (see sticky at top of this forum)?

Maybe as one last test, put a single mp3 file in the root of the Fuze. Then put a m3u playlist in the root that only contains the file name of the single mp3 (no path).

Contents of m3u should look like:
#EXTM3U
SomeSong.mp3

That should eliminate any path issues.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 05-02-2008, 04:12 PM
moto moto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Default

I added "#EXTM3U" on the first line of the m3u files and now the list of songs will show up properly when i select the playlist in the fuze.... But, when i choose a song, it won't play anything.

the .pla files made in MTP mode are working fine, however.

this is kinda strange :?
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 05-02-2008, 05:20 PM
Skinjob Skinjob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 241
Default

Did you try my suggestion of putting a single mp3 & playlist in the root with just the file name in the playlist?
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 05-02-2008, 06:13 PM
moto moto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Default

yeah. i'm getting the same result. playlist will show up on the fuze and when i select the play list, the songs will show up properly as well. but when i try to play it, it just won't.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 05-10-2008, 02:46 AM
inpheaux inpheaux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Default

I've been working on sorting out how to get full control of playlists on the 8Gb Fuze, specifically attempting to make it let me use playlists that pull from both the main memory and sdcard. I've been using MSC mode since it lets you use M3U playlists. I was digging through MTABLE.SYS and found that the Fuze's "internal" drive letters seem to be mmc:0:\ for the onboard memory and mmc:1:\ for the sdcard slot.

I've tried making various playlists, but the ONLY ones I have gotten to work are straight M3U playlists that start with #EXTM3U that use relative paths [eg, no leading backslash]. If you try to use an absolute path like:

mmc:0:\path\to\file.mp3

it doesn't show up as a valid path and the playlist turns up blank.

I know the stuff is stored that way. It says so right in the MTABLE.SYS. I know that with real filesystems you can use absolute paths in your M3U's all day long. Does anyone have any idea why it isn't working? Alternatively, is there a way to make cross-storage playlists in MTP mode? I tried looking into that, but can't stand WMP11.

Also, for what it's worth, I had no success using ..\ in any of my experiments. You apparently can't traverse the directory tree.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 05-20-2008, 10:09 AM
Skinjob Skinjob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 241
Default

@moto:

Don't know if you are still trying to get m3u playlists to work, but I thought I'd follow up. I finally got an 8GB Fuze myself and can report that m3u playlists do in fact work exactly the same as the Clip (and as I described above). The playlist just has to contain paths relative to the location of the playlist file itself. So you must still have some kind of path issue.

Based on inpheaux's testing, I guess ..\ doesn't work (never tried it myself). So the playlist must be somewhere in the path above the mp3 files. I guess in practice this means putting your playlists in the root or in \MUSIC. For example, my playlists are in the \MUSIC folder and my mp3s are in \MUSIC\<Artist>\<Album> folders. So the paths in my playlists always just contain <Artist>\<Album>\<Title>.mp3.

The only other gotcha is with large playlists (over 250 songs). Large playlists can take a long time to load. I have a 650 song playlists that takes many minutes to load. This is a known issue that should be fixed soon. They just fixed it in the new Clip FW that came out a few days ago, so I'm sure it's coming to the Fuze soon.

If you're still having trouble send me a PM with your email address and I'll send you a zip with a working sample.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 06-15-2008, 06:03 PM
Jerry Dahl Jerry Dahl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 16
Default Sansa Fuze Playlist Creater

I wrote a Sansa Fuze Playlist Creator. It runs in the root directory and creates .m3u format playlists based on the directory structure. You can download the program in the "Playlist Troubles" thread.

Let me know how it works for you and any feedback and comments.
Thanks,
Jerry Dahl
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 12-30-2008, 02:45 AM
Radius_sv Radius_sv is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Default Thanks and suggestions. And a link! :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Dahl View Post
I wrote a Sansa Fuze Playlist Creator. It runs in the root directory and creates .m3u format playlists based on the directory structure. You can download the program in the "Playlist Troubles" thread.

Let me know how it works for you and any feedback and comments.
Thanks,
Jerry Dahl

Sweet little program. I hate using WMP, etc, to sync and load music on my players. MSC mode rocks. Thank you for making it.

One suggestion that would make this a fantastic little utility. The ability to create playlists that span directories and the sd card would be wonderful.

For example, I have 3 Dave Matthews albums in subdirectories on the internal memory and two albums from John Mayer on the sd card. Your program is terrific for creating playlists for those albums only. Especially since it seems most of the time the mp3 ID tags are not written correctly making the play artist and play album selections virtually worthless. It fixes those problems.

But let's say I am not in the mood to listen to a complete album. I'd like to mix and match between all three DMB albums plus the John Mayer albums. I can't do that with your program, unfortunately. Unless I am doing something wrong and if I am please let me know.

I did find one program that can do that *except* it can't span storage locations. As long as everything in the playlist is on the internal memory, or the sd card, it works fine.

Check it out here: http://www.oddgravity.de/app-opc.php

That program almost gets to where I want to be. If I could combine yours, with that one plus the ability to span storage locations that would be awesome.

Oh and while I am dreaming, , the ability to update cross directory and storage location playlists automatically would be the icing on the cake. For example, let's say I had a playlist with tracks from all 5 of the albums listed above and i deleted one album. Clicking the update playlist button would cross check all the playlists and modify as needed to delete missing tracks from the playlists and I would be in heaven.

Thank You,
Michael
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 05-11-2010, 09:18 AM
FreeZ5's Avatar
FreeZ5 FreeZ5 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,512
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjj View Post
Did you ever solve this?
Mixing songs between main memory and micro cards can apparently be done by YAPL. I have not tried it but member 'lestatar' has mentioned success with this.

Steve
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 05-11-2010, 01:41 PM
FreeZ5's Avatar
FreeZ5 FreeZ5 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,512
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjj View Post
Thanks. What's the trick I can use in my own M3Us?
Go to the YAPL thread and ask the author.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.