android
  #1  
Old 06-24-2007, 11:02 PM
nickmart nickmart is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Default Help installing Rockbox

Hello everyone,

I am having some trouble installing Rockbox on my e280. I am running Windows XP Pro SP2. I read the manual and did the following:

1) I put the player into MSC mode

2) I downloaded chrisjs' DockPod AA build and extracted it straight to my Sansa root folder (ie G:\), so I now have a "rockbox" folder with all the folders and the rockbox.mi4 file. The manual stated I should have a "/.rockbox" folder, but Windows won't let me rename the folder to ".rockbox"

3) I downloaded sansapatcher.exe from the link in the manual and installed the bootloader sucessfully.

When I restart my player, the rockbox bootloader comes up, but I get the following messages:

Can't load rockbox.mi4:
File not found

Can't load rockbox.e200:
File not found


I can still boot into the original FW using the " |<< " button.

What is the file structure on the Sansa supposed to be? Do I need to take everything out the rockbox folder or do I need to rename the folder to ".rockbox"? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-24-2007, 11:05 PM
RCM's Avatar
RCM RCM is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm not telling
Posts: 1,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickmart View Post
Hello everyone,

I am having some trouble installing Rockbox on my e280. I am running Windows XP Pro SP2. I read the manual and did the following:

1) I put the player into MSC mode

2) I downloaded chrisjs' DockPod AA build and extracted it straight to my Sansa root folder (ie G:\), so I now have a "rockbox" folder with all the folders and the rockbox.mi4 file. The manual stated I should have a "/.rockbox" folder, but Windows won't let me rename the folder to ".rockbox"

3) I downloaded sansapatcher.exe from the link in the manual and installed the bootloader sucessfully.

When I restart my player, the rockbox bootloader comes up, but I get the following messages:

Can't load rockbox.mi4:
File not found

Can't load rockbox.e200:
File not found


I can still boot into the original FW using the " |<< " button.

What is the file structure on the Sansa supposed to be? Do I need to take everything out the rockbox folder or do I need to rename the folder to ".rockbox"? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
There's a thread around here somewhere that will show you what to do it should be stickied
__________________
Sansa View 16GB (DEAD)
Sony Walkman NWZ-S544 (DEAD has a mind of it's own and don't feel like fixing it!)
Zune HD 32GB (Retired)
Samsung Galaxy tab 2 7.0
Motorola Droid razr m
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-25-2007, 08:21 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,608
Default

Renaming the .rockbox folder to anything but .rockbox will prevent you from booting.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-25-2007, 10:15 AM
nickmart nickmart is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Default

The zip file I downloaded has a ".rockbox" folder in it, but the folder was automatically renamed to "rockbox" (without the . in front) when I unzipped it to the player. Everytime I try to rename it to ".rockbox", Windows says I need to have a filename. Is there a way in Windows to have a . as the first character in a folder name?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-25-2007, 10:57 AM
OddBob OddBob is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 513
Default

The zip program I use, Powerarchiver, has no problem keeping the folder name with the "." in front of it. Neither does IZArc. I did try removing the "." (I have a copy of the folder on my computer) and indeed it wouldn't let me name it back. Maybe you need to try a different zip program. Both of the ones I mentioned above are freeware and easily found through Google.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 06-25-2007, 12:02 PM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

I use winrar and it extracts correctly.
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 06-25-2007, 10:23 PM
nickmart nickmart is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks everyone for your responses. I found a way to make a .rockbox folder on my player using the command line and the mkdir command. For some reason, Windows allows folder names to start with "." but the GUI doesn't. I was using IZArc to extract it, but Windows always renamed it.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 06-26-2007, 01:06 AM
OddBob OddBob is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 513
Default

What flavor of Windows are you using? It really shouldn't be doing that. I can see this causing problems the next time you update Rockbox, which you're going to want to do sooner or later.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 06-26-2007, 03:41 PM
nickmart nickmart is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Default

OddBob

I am using Windows XP Pro SP2 using IZArc 3.6. I tried to extract the zip again after I updated to IZArc 3.81, but the folder was still renamed. My guess is that there is some setting in Windows that I forgot to enabe/disable that would allow me to name a folder with a . in the beginning. Updating Rockbox should not be a problem as long as I don't delete the .rockbox folder (but it is trickier than the way it should be).
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 06-26-2007, 04:35 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

same here and i have the same problem
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 06-28-2007, 09:13 AM
smeakim smeakim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 149
Default

well if its any consolation once you have the .rockbox folder all you have to do next time is copy the indiviudal folders that are needed into the .rockbox folder. No reason to copy the whole folder. The folders that are needed from my experiences are (codecs, codepages, docs, eqs, viewers, rockbox-info, tagnavi.config, viewers.config, rockbox.mi4, and rocks). This also allows you to keep your themes, recpresets, wps, and backdrops. Works fine for me.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 02-05-2012, 06:08 AM
Houchy Houchy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Hi,
just faced the same problem. Under Windows, you can just go to the DOS invite command line and type:
Quote:
rename rockbox .rockbox
Just tried it and it works fine.

Cheers.
Houchy
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 02-05-2012, 06:23 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Did you happen to see the date on the thread you replied to, 06-28-2007 and the member you replied to hasn't been around since 2009.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.