android
  #1  
Old 03-04-2007, 06:26 PM
nerd49 nerd49 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Default new 404 - something loose

I just bought a 404 and I notice that when shaken lightly something is moving around, not a real small part but something fairly large, like a battery or the hard drive. It's annoying and I'm concerned that the unit is defective.

Everything works ok though. Do other units experience the same thing? The store I bought it from only had one unit left and it was still shrink wrapped.

Thanks
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-04-2007, 06:29 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

Why not return it?
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-04-2007, 07:30 PM
nerd49 nerd49 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Default

I bought the last one and I want to make sure somethings wrong with it. For all I know, they all shift slightly inside when shaken
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-04-2007, 07:47 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerd49 View Post
I bought the last one and I want to make sure somethings wrong with it. For all I know, they all shift slightly inside when shaken
I don’t own one, but I doubt that any DAP is made to “shift slightly inside when shaken,” at least my e260 doesn’t or neither do my kids. As far as being the last one, who cares, unless you’re willing to live with it like that?
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 03-04-2007, 08:59 PM
Hairback357 Hairback357 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 101
Default

Nothing feels loose in mine. I think you got a bad one. I would exchange it.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 03-04-2007, 09:08 PM
nerd49 nerd49 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks guys, its going back. Just wanted confirmation. I'll have to find another one. Other than that, I like it, the feature set is nice for what I paid for it (199.00).
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 03-04-2007, 09:38 PM
Hairback357 Hairback357 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 101
Default

That is a real sweet price. I paid 299.00.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 03-08-2007, 10:03 PM
maboroshi maboroshi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 50
Default

Hi all, I just picked one up(office depot has them for 199 now).

I noticed that when I lightly shake mine that something very small sounds like it's shaking. I don't think it's the buttons as I tried while holding them. But it definitely sound like something, maybe wires or something? Does anyone else's do this?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 03-09-2007, 10:46 AM
yeshaib's Avatar
yeshaib yeshaib is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maboroshi View Post
Hi all, I just picked one up(office depot has them for 199 now).

I noticed that when I lightly shake mine that something very small sounds like it's shaking. I don't think it's the buttons as I tried while holding them. But it definitely sound like something, maybe wires or something? Does anyone else's do this?
My unit does that as well but it's a normal sound
__________________
www.mympio.com - My Mpio Fan Site
www.pdapoint.net - My Blog Site
www.my-audio.net - Hebrew Support for any DAP around
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 03-09-2007, 10:45 AM
yeshaib's Avatar
yeshaib yeshaib is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 65
Default

My unit does that as well but it's a normal sound
__________________
www.mympio.com - My Mpio Fan Site
www.pdapoint.net - My Blog Site
www.my-audio.net - Hebrew Support for any DAP around
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 03-22-2007, 10:48 AM
thuen thuen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Default

mine has something rather large loose inside of it as well.. seems to be over to the side with the buttons :/
thinking of taking it back, but the thing is that i live in denmark and bought it in germany, so it'd really be annoying if it doesnt matter..
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 09-23-2007, 06:38 PM
oeters_m09 oeters_m09 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 3
Default

I don't have any problems with mine, so you might want to check with Archos and find out what is going on.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.