abi>>forums

abi>>forums (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/index.php)
-   Sansa Clip / Clip+ / Clip Zip (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=119)
-   -   My podcast workflow, what's yours? (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=71181)

HankB 11-25-2012 05:34 PM

My podcast workflow, what's yours?

My fishing buddy was admiring my Clip+ and the ease with which I use it to listen to podcasts. He has one inbound from Newegg and will be counting on me to get him set up and running. The fly in the ointment is that I run Linux and he uses Windows. I need to find a solution that will work well for him. I thought that one way to do that was to describe what I do and see what others are doing, particularly in the Windows realm.

My solution involves a lot of 'roll your own' as I am a developer and scripting up some simple utilities is almost trivial. The second aspect of my solution is that I run Rockbox on my Clip+ because it works a lot better than the original Sansa firmware for what I do.

My system is geared toward downloading the podcasts daily and listening to them day by day.
  1. The first step is to run the command line version of gpodder from a cron job. (Cron can schedule execution of a command on a periodic basis.) The gpodder invocation is actually run from a shell script that first updates and downloads all subscribed podcasts. Next it moves all new podcasts to a directory named ~/Music/gpodcast/<yyyy-mm-dd> where <yyyy-mm-dd> is the current date in ISO 8601 format. (This format has the desirable feature that it sorts in correct order.) In ogther words, it creates a new directory each day that contains the podcasts downloaded that day. The script next runs 'mp3gain' across all files in ~/Music/gpodcast to equalize gain. At this point the podcasts are ready to copy over to the device.
  2. Second step is to attach the Clip+ to my PC.