abi>>forums

abi>>forums (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/index.php)
-   Sansa Clip / Clip+ / Clip Zip (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=119)
-   -   Sansa Clip Plus + 64Gb microSD + Rockbox + Scrobbling? (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=70100)

boechat 07-24-2012 11:59 AM

Sansa Clip Plus + 64Gb microSD + Rockbox + Scrobbling?
 
Hello guys..
I need some opinions regarding my new sound equipments.

Recently, i bought a Samsung Galaxy S3 and a 64GB microsd. Im not sure if i will keep listening to my music on this device, as I find the max volume setting to be low. I tried a basic Philips ''over the ear'' phone, but i was not satisfied with the max volume. In Ear phones get higher volume settings - but i hate them. Im not one with huge auricular tunnels.

Im considering to take my sansa clip+ out of the locker. I dont know which one has better sound quality, but one thing is for sure: sansa clip+ is smaller - and i already know it is a damn little sound monster.

So i have a couple of questions:

1- does the Rockboxed Sansa Clip+ supports a Sandisk 64Gb microSDHC class 10 card? Mine is a Clip+ 4gb.

2 - Mine has already rockbox (the very first version they released for clip+). I heard that the RB has new versions and all. The only feature of my interest is: what about the Last.fm scrobbling support now? It is realiable? Could one give me details about timestamp, multi-play tracks..?

3 - Which one may i choose to listen to my music? Galaxy S3? Clip+? Both? What would you do?

4 - I want to buy a Porta Pro 25. Any opinions on this one? Is it any good with clip+ and/or galaxy s3? Will i get any improve from Fiio amps?

I used to run with Nano 8gb 2nd gen. Great player if i do say so myself.. But 8Gb its not enough. I had also iphone 4s 32gb. No enough too! I rlly like iPhones and all but i guess im doing fine with my new android.

:)

WalkGood 07-24-2012 12:27 PM

64GB card would need to be formatted to FAT32 and then yes it works on rockbox or OF.

saratoga 07-24-2012 12:41 PM

I'm surprised the S3 is quieter. It should be within a dB or two given the DAC it uses.

boechat 07-24-2012 01:34 PM

Whats is dB and DAC?

I heard that the audiochip on S3 is wonderful and all.

I tested this on my S3:

http://images.xoppi.com/fotos/Auricu...-2000_para.jpg

Max volume its not loud enough to me..

I tested the very same Philips on my Nano 2nd gen. Its quite louder.. How come?

I wonder how loud will Porta Pro 25 get.. I cant use an Amp on a cellphone.

WalkGood 07-24-2012 01:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boechat (Post 617295)
Whats is dB and DAC?

Look at the glossary link below my signature.

Quote:

Originally Posted by boechat (Post 617295)
I tested the very same Philips on my Nano 2nd gen. Its quite louder.. How come?

Without looking at the specs I'd say it has higher output.

Marvin the Martian 07-24-2012 01:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boechat (Post 617295)
Whats is dB and DAC?

I heard that the audiochip on S3 is wonderful and all.

I tested this on my S3:

(image snipped)

Max volume its not loud enough to me..

I tested the very same Philips on my Nano 2nd gen. Its quite louder.. How come?

I wonder how loud will Porta Pro 25 get.. I cant use an Amp on a cellphone.

Why not?

WalkGood 07-24-2012 01:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian (Post 617299)
Why not?

While both you and I know you can, it's just plain silly, not to mention a PITA IMO. Why not buy headphones/IEMs that match the impedance or can easily be driven without an amp ...

boechat 07-24-2012 02:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WalkGood (Post 617297)
Without looking at the specs I'd say it has higher output.

Higher output means higher overall sound quality?

S3 features a Wolfson audiochip named WM1811 that feat.:

This audio chip is a 24-bit, two channel DAC (digital-to-analog converter) that includes active noise reduction circuits and a four-channel equalizer. According to Wolfson’s press release, the WM1811 provides crystal-clear voice quality and enriched audio playback for music, along with minimum power consumption, to ensure a much longer battery life.

Ring any bell? I mean, it is any good?

boechat 07-24-2012 02:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WalkGood (Post 617300)
While both you and I know you can, it's just plain silly, not to mention a PITA IMO. Why not buy headphones/IEMs that match the impedance or can easily be driven without an amp ...

I couldn't understand nothing, sorry.

WalkGood 07-24-2012 02:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boechat (Post 617301)
Higher output means higher overall sound quality?

No, just means more powerful or the amp drives a few mW higher.

Quote:

Originally Posted by boechat (Post 617301)
This audio chip is a 24-bit, two channel DAC (digital-to-analog converter) … Ring any bell? I mean, it is any good?

Not sure what your are asking but if you’re asking if it’s a good DAC, I’d say it’s fine. IMO it’s hard impossible to tell the difference between good DACs that are volume matched in an ABX test.

WalkGood 07-24-2012 02:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WalkGood (Post 617300)
While both you and I know you can, it's just plain silly, not to mention a PITA IMO. Why not buy headphones/IEMs that match the impedance or can easily be driven without an amp ...

Quote:

Originally Posted by boechat (Post 617301)
I couldn't understand nothing, sorry.

That post was directed at Marvin’s response here, indicating “why not use an Amp on a cellphone.” I just wouldn't ...

Marvin the Martian 07-24-2012 02:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WalkGood (Post 617300)
While both you and I know you can, it's just plain silly, not to mention a PITA IMO. Why not buy headphones/IEMs that match the impedance or can easily be driven without an amp ...

I'll agree that for the most part, it is silly. I have no plans to attach one of my amps to my phone....then again, my phone is not my primary source, either. For occasional short-term portable use, that's fine, but I don't want to eat up my battery playing tunes or apps if I am out and about.

WalkGood 07-24-2012 02:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian (Post 617306)
I'll agree that for the most part, it is silly. I have no plans to attach one of my amps to my phone....then again, my phone is not my primary source, either.

Most people that own an amp, me included, don't use a phone for their primary source. Even if one does, it makes your phone even more cumbersome than they already are. Regardless, IMO this discussion is off topic to this thread.

boechat 07-24-2012 02:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian (Post 617306)
I'll agree that for the most part, it is silly. I have no plans to attach one of my amps to my phone....then again, my phone is not my primary source, either. For occasional short-term portable use, that's fine, but I don't want to eat up my battery playing tunes or apps if I am out and about.

Know any Android app that increase the max volume? I tried one or another.. no success.

About amp usage, well, i wouldnt use it on a cell too. Considering i have a s3 - which has a pretty large screen.. doesnt cut, thats all. But im looking foward to use a Fiio on my clip+, it will depend on how RB handle scrobblings to last.fm, im kinda perfectionist.

i love these: http://anythingbutipod.com/2009/05/h...-interconnect/

Marvin the Martian 07-24-2012 02:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boechat (Post 617310)
Know any Android app that increase the max volume? I tried one or another.. no success.

Which music app are you using? I know Poweramp and Winamp have gain settings on their EQ menus....that could potentially help you. Of course, pushing the gain up too far could result in clipping.....you'll have to do some trial and error.

saratoga 07-24-2012 02:59 PM

I probably wouldn't use a fiio with a clip+. Probably no need unless you're nearly deaf.

You might try XDA or similar site about the S3 volume issue. Its possible theres a volume cap for it in your country that could be removed.

FreeZ5 07-24-2012 03:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by saratoga (Post 617314)
I probably wouldn't use a fiio with a clip+. Probably no need unless you're nearly deaf.

or are running the European firmware.

Steve

boechat 07-25-2012 01:03 PM

thank you guys!

im going to test rockbox today.. I tell ya about last.fm scrobbling support!

WalkGood 07-25-2012 01:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boechat (Post 617423)
thank you guys!

im going to test rockbox today.. I tell ya about last.fm scrobbling support!

Good luck, I'm just a little surprised you had it in the locker to begin with :rolleyes:

boechat 07-25-2012 03:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WalkGood (Post 617425)
Good luck, I'm just a little surprised you had it in the locker to begin with :rolleyes:

Yeah, i was listening music on other devices.. But now I want to go back to my sansa.

Well, i tested rockbox scrobbling system. Its nearly perfect but for one little thing. Music are scrobbled when they reach 50%. This is a bad thing to me. I have a lot of short music with 30 seconds.

Can a dev insert an option to make it able to manually set how many % will it need to a track to be scrobbled? I mean, wish i could set Rockbox to scrobble only those tracks that i FULLY listened - only 100% listened tracks.

In other hand, there are a couple of good lil softwares to upload your scrobble logs. It would be really perfect to scrobble only what matters!
Any suggestion?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.