abi>>forums

abi>>forums (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/index.php)
-   Samsung S3 / S5 (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=118)
-   -   S3 "Hold" brick (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=56682)

joneeeees 08-03-2010 01:04 PM

S3 "Hold" brick
 
Hi,
I'm having problems with the samsung YP-S3 player. It used to work fine, but all of a sudden the "HOLD" notification keeps appearing after start up, even if hold isnt activated. Its impossible to operate it, only a restart with the reset button works. Ive tried formatting it, and i reinstalled the firmware without any success. can anyone help?
thanks

lebellium 08-05-2010 03:31 AM

Someone got the same problem on generationmp3. There was no way to make it work again. He only tried to turn it on everyday and 10 days later it worked again. Just magic, no rational explaination...

joneeeees 08-05-2010 06:36 AM

could be a mechanical problem of the switch, I hit it lightly and it worked again... slightly awkward :D

mikrron 04-16-2013 08:20 AM

hi
 
today i solved this hold problem, now i can use my lovely player again.
before i had to slide the power button to hold and back few times to unlock it. and even thoug keeped locking random while using...

so i searched and found this dissasembly video , i tried (read below), and i put a litlle alcohool on the swith, slide it few times, assembly back .. tadaa.. works perfectly.


in that video it seems simple but only because the toy was dissasembled before!
in reality it has some glue between parts and it`s tricky. and the middle metal frame slides down to take it off after you unscrew the screw
also my display remained glue to the front screen .. be very very carefull

PS: don`t try tu pull up the front face like in the video!!
on the back , under the sticker it`s a hole. insert something not sharp and press to slightly raise the cover while yo insert a sharp tool to lift it


+ 1 trick to reinstall firmware i found experimenting (thought was a software problem first) :

explore player files and there is a file where it says the current software version (mine 1.12 or smth). edit the file and change it with older software (1.11). then start emodio and check for update, it will resoft latest version again (that you allready have)

this is old but hey.. it may help somebody


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 PM.