abi>>forums

abi>>forums (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/index.php)
-   Microsoft Zune (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   Rockbox on Zune30? (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=56630)

battlemac 08-01-2010 01:48 PM

Rockbox on Zune30?
 
Not sure what happened to the rockbox development for the Zune30, but it seems like it stagnated a bit. Now the Gigabeat S has rockbox working in some form or version. Now since both using essentially the same hardware, and Zune30 was made Toshiba. Do you think it is possible to install the Gigabeat S firmware somehow, and then from there install rockbox(that been adjust a bit to make the zune controls work)? Or is this just a pipe dream?

McDougal 08-01-2010 01:54 PM

I don't understand why there is no Rockbox for any Zunes. I also had an idea that Rockbox for the Zune HD would be amazing, probably not going to happen though (unfortunately).

battlemac 08-01-2010 04:05 PM

Well any one out there in enough to wanna try that method I suggested?

dfkt 08-01-2010 04:08 PM

Thread title (original 'Can this idea work?') changed. Please use descriptive thread titles.

Maybe you should ask that question on the Rockbox forums, mailing list, or on the Rockbox IRC channel. The developers there should have more insight into what is possible and what isn't, than people here. That would be a better approach than relying on guesswork, rumors, and the like.

Here's an old thread about that: http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php?topic=6848.0 - in short: nobody with skills really started in-depth work on it yet.

battlemac 08-01-2010 05:36 PM

Thank you. But, if the Zune OS and the Gigabeat S WMC or whatever its called is similar are similar wouldn't it be kind of safe to assume that a rockobx port could be easy?

Dilpickle1 12-29-2010 12:04 PM

The Zune Firmware cannot be replaced without Microsofts signature being cracked.. and all efforts have failed in doing so.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.