abi>>forums

abi>>forums (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/index.php)
-   Zii (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=212)
-   -   WiFi problems with Zii EGG (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=54024)

danE 04-05-2010 10:39 AM

WiFi problems with Zii EGG
 
I seem to be having problems with the WiFi on the Zii. It's about as sensitive as a rock. I can find several networks but cannot connect to any of them. At work I have to use an iTouch and it connects with no problems. Has anyone else noticed this problem and does anyone have any ides that might help.

Thanks in advance!

Dan

Slaghead 04-05-2010 01:55 PM

It was a problem with mine when I had it too. According to the developer forum, it is still an issue even with the latest firmware builds for some people. Most of the time it appears to work eventually. Just have to keep trying to connect over and over until it finally works.

danE 04-05-2010 03:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Slaghead (Post 459029)
It was a problem with mine when I had it too. According to the developer forum, it is still an issue even with the latest firmware builds for some people. Most of the time it appears to work eventually. Just have to keep trying to connect over and over until it finally works.

OK, Thanks. That sure puts a big negative to the Zii. I hope it gets fixed.

IanFromAfrica 04-19-2010 05:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by danE (Post 459062)
OK, Thanks. That sure puts a big negative to the Zii. I hope it gets fixed.

If you are using 1.10.03, your device may eventually require a RMA (for WiFi). Fortunately there is a way to fix it (mine got to the RMA stage). Once fixed, there is no problem with the WiFi (on firmwares 0.98.xx-1.00.xx). If you want to know more, you can read my posts about in on the ZiiLabs forum.

Olley 04-19-2010 07:42 AM

I couldn't get mine to work under Plaszma (the latest firmware), but did get it to work after I put Android on it.

IanFromAfrica 04-19-2010 11:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Olley (Post 463797)
I couldn't get mine to work under Plaszma (the latest firmware), but did get it to work after I put Android on it.

Yes, that is what I had to do. Once you've 'fixed' it like this, you can use other Plaszma versions (I recommend 1.00.06). Without installing Android, it won't work again once you've installed 1.10.03 (even if you try installing older Plaszma versions). Be sure to power off the device between each firmware install.

danE 04-20-2010 06:14 PM

Ian,

I hope you got your problems with shipping to S.A. figured out.:)

I loaded Android on my Zii and the WiFi works great. With a little help here at work I have a Java SDK loaded on my desktop and am going to try developing apps with that.

Thanks to one and all for the help.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.