abi>>forums

abi>>forums (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/index.php)
-   Cowon S9 (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=184)
-   -   Radio.ini and "pseudo RDS" (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=39525)

dfkt 01-30-2009 10:02 AM

Radio.ini and "pseudo RDS"
 
Just a heads up, maybe some of you know about that already...

Same as on the Cowon D2, you can edit the radio.ini file in the S9's system folder with a text editor to add station names to your presets.

"S" is the frequency (without decimal dots), "N" is the name of the station.

Code:

[FM]
S1=8860
N1=Radio 88,6
S2=8990
N2=Radio Wien
S3=9200
N3=1
S4=9290
N4=Radio Arabella
...
S22=10580
N22=Krone Hit
S23=10730
N23=Radio Stephansdom


Olley 01-30-2009 02:15 PM

Thanks, dfkt. Does the station ID then show up when the player is on that station? I'd test it myself but my S9 is home and I'm at work.

dfkt 01-30-2009 02:24 PM

Yes, that's what I meant... heh, stupid me, forgot to explicitly mention that most important part: the station name will show up on the FM screen.

The DarkSide 02-03-2009 10:58 AM

Wow, good info dfkt. Bookmarked!!!

DanielF50 02-03-2009 11:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The DarkSide (Post 325706)
Wow, good info dfkt. Bookmarked!!!

It needs a sticky IMO, I woulda loved to be able to do that with my ZVM >.<

Dan

rinzwind 02-03-2009 01:24 PM

Thank you for this bit of information :)

1 thing: do these alterations get overwritten when I rescan for new stations?
Probably... so guess I'll save a backup just in case :D

dfkt 02-03-2009 04:25 PM

Yeah, just copy the radio.ini file to your computer for safekeeping. I didn't even create a new one for the S9, I just used the one I had on my D2 already.

OnYourMark 02-14-2009 07:53 PM

I edited the station information, and the correct info gets displayed, but the S9 always eventually freezes (note: it freezes only when browsing with presets). The audio continues, but the touch screen and hard buttons are unresponsive.
16GB FW2.09.
I have 17 stations, from 8810 to 10790

Any help? Thanks in advanced and thanks for the radio.ini info.

newone 05-25-2009 09:32 AM

Thank you very much for the useful hint!

Did someone test, if its possible to simply write prtoect the radio.ini file by its properties?

dfkt 05-25-2009 10:01 AM

Not sure if Cowon's firmware respects Windows' file protect settings.

newone 05-25-2009 10:55 AM

Well, actually it seems to have no effect. I just tested it, but I didn't do a full scan. I aborted both times and both times the saved stations were still there. So if you accidentally hit the scan button there is no worry, since the scan seems to save its information only if run to the end.

Leroy Bad 05-26-2009 01:00 AM

This is very interesting, I tried this on my D2.

Now why does the radio.ini have the N field if the D2 doesn't support RDS? I wonder if theres some parameter that can be used to allow the D2 to read the RDS info by itself then??

dfkt 05-26-2009 05:55 AM

Nah, it's just "pseudo", for people to enter the station names manually. The radio chip (Sanyo LV24020LP) is not capable of retrieving RDS data.

Which makes you wonder why Cowon don't mention that radio.ini feature anywhere in the manual...

Claw 05-26-2009 07:50 AM

Gee thanks - you just ruined any hope I had at getting RDS on this thing :(

Oh well ... I consider lack of RDS and Gapless as main deficiencies of the S9.

Quote:

Originally Posted by dfkt (Post 359715)
The radio chip (Sanyo LV24020LP) is not capable of retrieving RDS data.


The DarkSide 05-26-2009 08:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Claw (Post 359742)
Gee thanks - you just ruined any hope I had at getting RDS on this thing :(

Oh well ... I consider lack of RDS and Gapless as main deficiencies of the S9.

As long as you get that gapless going, SCREW THE RDS!!!!

You da' man Claw!!!

sweet as suga 10-15-2010 04:52 PM

Thank you dfkt. I've just labelled all my stations.

majoSK 10-17-2010 12:43 PM

God bless you dfkt. You are king, you are brain, you are No1. It is interesting, that this feature until now nobody not appeared. Thank you.

Confispect 10-18-2010 08:17 AM

Nice, worked perfectly.

prsut 07-24-2011 03:13 PM

Now, I have Cowon S9, you can run JetShell, select Options -> Device Parameter and write pseudo info for RDS...

My best...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 AM.