abi>>forums

abi>>forums (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/index.php)
-   Samsung P2 (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=117)
-   -   P3 Firmware on P2?? (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=38281)

arekieh 12-31-2008 05:08 PM

P3 Firmware on P2??
 
Do u guys think it will be possible? I dont see why it wouldnt work

brfield 01-01-2009 12:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by arekieh (Post 314528)
Do u guys think it will be possible? I dont see why it wouldnt work

It wouldn't work. The two devices run different hardware with different code to support each set of applicable hardware/features. I think it would be nice to get some of the functionality but in all reality, it isn't going to happen. I just bought my P2 for Christmas and I would've liked a P3 but they don't look as good as the P2, and the only MAJOR difference is some tactile controls around the edges with a built in mono-speaker.

arekieh 01-01-2009 12:59 AM

agreed,
I honestly dont think it can be that hard. I doubt the hardware is much different and all the coding support would be firmware based. The hardware shouldnt have to do anything with the coding (unless im majorly missing something). The only thing i could see is the hardware being too slow to run the new firmware. And i doubt samsung will release the p3 firmware for the p2, because the major difference between the 2 is the firmware, which is why i would buy the p3. Just got my P2 as well and i dont relaly plan on upgrading. Im happy with it and dont want to spend alot more money

huyouare 01-01-2009 12:15 PM

What is it of the firmware do you want on P2?
A similar skin can be made, but the interface of the P3 can't be remade for the P2.
The flash interface is much upgraded, as is the hardware.

arekieh 01-01-2009 12:28 PM

I just like the widgets :) and the ability to move the icons around and stuff

electron 01-02-2009 01:50 PM

I think that instead of trying to get the P3 firmware on the P2, everyone should just work on getting google Android on the P2...

pROFIL 01-31-2009 12:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by electron (Post 315135)
I think that instead of trying to get the P3 firmware on the P2, everyone should just work on getting google Android on the P2...

Agree totally!

But the hard thing is, where to start? I dont have a clue what to do. If someone could make a nice bootloader to start with it should be VERY good.

Olley 01-31-2009 01:17 PM

It's now been proven that the P2 can play non-flash P3 games. That suggests the basic OS is compatible. One has a Vibration feature that is simply disabled on the P2. Add flash support and you've almost got a P3.

korvmannen 01-31-2009 01:21 PM

if you rename the p3 firmware to the same name as the p2 firmware and try to update. it will give you an invalid firmware error

curiouswonderer 01-31-2009 06:03 PM

will obviously it won't be that simple.

maybe someone who can speak computer can give it a try (not me)....

arekieh 02-02-2009 08:48 AM

P3 games work on the P2? Where do u get them from.

Unolord 02-02-2009 09:14 AM

If you go to YJZone.net _and wade through the pron spam - there's a link to two P3 games that will work on the P2. One's a useless Bubblewrap game, the other's Suduku.

I've installed both on my P2. No problem, sir.

greekboy 02-02-2009 11:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by arekieh (Post 325354)
P3 games work on the P2? Where do u get them from.

http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=39476 ;)

jthebigjay 02-02-2009 02:46 PM

Vibration function disabled?? Whats up with that. Never heard of such a thing....

korvmannen 02-02-2009 03:03 PM

well the P2 doesn't have a vibrator like the P3 does.

Olley 02-02-2009 07:29 PM

Vibration is simply a trick to make the game feel as if you've actually popped a bubble. The screen reacts to your touch. Haptic. The P3 has it. The P2 doesn't.

jthebigjay 02-02-2009 09:15 PM

Ah. the way it was worded it seemed the vibration was a function that just wasn't unlocked on the p2 yet..... it made sence to me at the time.......

arekieh 02-04-2009 12:39 AM

Thanks for the links. I doubt someone will ever come out with a port of the P3 firmware to P2. The userbase isnt large enough to encoporate a large coding community

Soaa 02-04-2009 07:42 AM

It's impossible to "port." If the format were the same, one might try to install it, but porting means patching and recompiling the source code for the P2, which we obviously cannot do.

Lion2k6 02-04-2009 01:46 PM

So rockbox (www.rockbox.org) is maybe possible on the P2 but someone has to work on it. ^^


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 AM.