abi>>forums

abi>>forums (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/index.php)
-   Toshiba Gigabeat S (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   Complied Rockbox: Simple Branch (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=33915)

jac0b 08-30-2008 11:29 PM

Complied Rockbox: Simple Branch
 
Note: Current build doesn't have the mpeg playlist patch.
Last Updated: 7/23/2009 9:30PM

[Download Rockbox S-Series Current Build]

Patches:
FS#6733 - Shutdown Only in menu
FS#8400 - Option to keep backlight off while pressing certain buttons
FS#7542 - Move playlist creation from root to Playlists directory
FS#8607 - MPEG video playlist

Brodie_337 09-03-2008 05:45 PM

Hi,

How would you go about installing this. I cant seem to properly compile the sendfirm.exe utility, so I cant install. Whenever I try to compile, it says somthing about the directory "cc1" not existing.

Any help would be appreciated.

Brodie.

jac0b 09-03-2008 10:02 PM

These are the instructions to install it. But wait till tomorrow I will uploading a better build of the gigabeat S this supposedly has a problem with the USB code and will mess up you gigabeat. Or you could just use the default build on the instruction page and then put mine on at a later time.

Good luck and if you have any questions let me know.

Brodie_337 09-04-2008 07:35 AM

Thanks for your help mate.

I'll probably wind up using your build, thanks for making it possible for newbs like me to use RockBox. Just a quick question, I'm using Windows Vista, and dont have the FDISK utility. How do I format the disk, and which partition needs formatting.

Thanks again,
Brodie.

jac0b 09-04-2008 09:56 AM

If you are using windows you don't have to do the fdisk thing that is for linux.

Brodie_337 09-05-2008 12:50 AM

OK mate, so the disk wont need formatting at all?

jac0b 09-05-2008 08:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brodie_337 (Post 280568)
OK mate, so the disk wont need formatting at all?

You shouldn't have to, also your not formatting it you are just editing the partition tables so linux can understand what is on the disk.

chu tuoc 09-17-2008 09:10 AM

Hi
Could you please upload it on another site ?? I live in SE Asia and they don't allow me to download anything without paying them
Thx

jac0b 09-17-2008 04:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chu tuoc (Post 283729)
Hi
Could you please upload it on another site ?? I live in SE Asia and they don't allow me to download anything without paying them
Thx

Where can you d/l it from? Rapidshare, Megaupload?

chu tuoc 09-17-2008 08:55 PM

I can download from rapidshare
Thx

jac0b 09-17-2008 09:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chu tuoc (Post 283904)
I can download from rapidshare
Thx

Here you go

chu tuoc 09-17-2008 10:26 PM

Thank a lot
I have some question about this port.
-Can I play music with it (it sound silly but this port is incomplete so it may not able to play music) ?
-Can I reinstall the original firmware after I install this ?
-Can I recharge using this firmware or I have to swap back to the original Firmware?
Regard

Edit: I have some problem.After I download nk.bin and sendfirm from the instruction page I tried to send it to my player by exceuting sendfirm nk.bin but nothing happended only a commandline saying that"firmware send successfully" . I then shutdown the player and turn on again this time I jump to the recovery menu I say me to Restore to Portable Media Center.I tried to send the firmware to it again and only a partion with 1 Gb appear. It nothing like to description in the instruction page.What should I do
Edit 2: Strangely after I remove USB cable the device restart and enter rockbox but I only appear a 150Mb Partition. How can I make other partition appear to copy Rockbox to it ??
Ecit 3: I can make Rockbox boot. Now how can I apply the patch for rockbox.Thx

jac0b 09-18-2008 06:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chu tuoc (Post 283914)
Thank a lot
Edit 3: I can make Rockbox boot. Now how can I apply the patch for rockbox.Thx

I am glad you got it working now. You can't apply patches unless you build your own rockbox build like the one I gave you. Check this out for more info on how to build your own.

chu tuoc 09-18-2008 10:04 AM

Thx for your information.
I have some other problem:
Every time I turn off the device when I turn back on I stuck to the Recovery Screen and have to send the firmware back to it.Are there other way around ? I see in the Instruction say about dual boot how can I do it ?
How can I customize the themes. And are there a way to change the wallpaper in Rockbox?
It amazing to see this port progress so fast it now almost fully functional.Love to see more progress
Regard
Edit : Where can I find the original firmware for S60 ? The read me said that I need the original Firmware for dual booting

jac0b 09-18-2008 12:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chu tuoc (Post 284000)
Thx for your information.
I have some other problem:
Every time I turn off the device when I turn back on I stuck to the Recovery Screen and have to send the firmware back to it.Are there other way around ? I see in the Instruction say about dual boot how can I do it ?
How can I customize the themes. And are there a way to change the wallpaper in Rockbox?
It amazing to see this port progress so fast it now almost fully functional.Love to see more progress
Regard
Edit : Where can I find the original firmware for S60 ? The read me said that I need the original Firmware for dual booting

The dual-boot process you needed just for charging but I have a patch applied to charge the player with RB.

On the recovery mode problem make sure you are unmounting/safely removing the player and not just unplugging it.

Currently I don't see any themes for the S but you could create your own Check Here.

chu tuoc 09-18-2008 01:40 PM

I have successfully make a dual boot and it solve the problem of the recovery
But if I want to use the single boot version how can I safety remove/unmount the device to avoid the recovery screen? I can see the Shut down option on Rockbox but when I click it it said Battery charging and nothing happened .After messing with my near dead battery I made it completely dead and now I have to use my Gigabeat with an adapter so every time I move around I have to unplug it and it will cause the recovery screen appear :(

jac0b 09-18-2008 02:31 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by chu tuoc (Post 284033)
I have successfully make a dual boot and it solve the problem of the recovery
But if I want to use the single boot version how can I safety remove/unmount the device to avoid the recovery screen? I can see the Shut down option on Rockbox but when I click it it said Battery charging and nothing happened .After messing with my near dead battery I made it completely dead and now I have to use my Gigabeat with an adapter so every time I move around I have to unplug it and it will cause the recovery screen appear :(

The dual boot is just for if you want to boot into the OF(original firmware) and for what I said earlier about charging of the S, it has nothing to do with the recovery mode. To boot the OF turn off your player and turn on Hold then power the player back on and it will boot into the OF(Note: wait for until it has fully booted before turning hold off). To safely remove in windows you click the icon(looks like the below picture) in your taskbar and select "safely remove" and that will remove it from your computer. If you use linux just right click on the drive and select "unmount".

chu tuoc 09-18-2008 07:31 PM

Thx.But my Gigabeat enter recovery mode when I unplug it from the adapter not USB.Since my battery is completely dead unplug from the adapter leave the Gigabeat with no power source and it cause the problem.I also encouter the problem when I hold the power button for a few second. The Gigabeat will reboot and it will jump into the recovery screen.In short with the single boot firmware every time I reboot the Gigabeeat it will enter the recovery screen not boot screen.
About the themes: the ones for X anf F series work fine with S series since they have the same screen resolution
Regard

jac0b 09-18-2008 09:30 PM

Does rockbox even boot up? Also did you put the build I gave the link to up above or did you put the default build from the instructions?

chu tuoc 09-18-2008 10:56 PM

No.Gigabeat detect that firmware were fail so it jump right to recovery mode.After I sent the nk.bin to the device again it can boot to Rockbox ,I can even resume the song that I play before I turn off the device so I think that may be the problem with the firmware ,are there anyway to bypassing the firmware check of Gigabeat? I use the Rockbox version that you send me.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.