abi>>forums

abi>>forums (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/index.php)
-   Sansa Clip / Clip+ / Clip Zip Rockbox (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=228)
-   -   Rockbox: Clip v1 (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=36978)

funman 12-05-2008 05:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by samueljesusfreak (Post 305634)
I hope they're able to find a recovery function for this player. Ohhh its soo beautiful =]

Unfortunately it seems there is no recovery at all, so the risk can not be 0.

That just means we have to be very cautious when writing the code which patches the firmware ;)

The development tools in rockbox svn seem to work now, after I "only" bricked 2 Clips when working on it :/

binaryhermit 12-05-2008 09:36 PM

Some observations: The default theme could use a bit of tweaking due to the line between the yellow part of the screen and the blue part of the screen. Resume is buggy. Seeking is buggy. It randomly crashes. It'd be nice if you could add the bootloader to OF version 1.1.30. Basically, they're right when they say "don't try this at home"

Mikerman 12-05-2008 10:25 PM

Absolutely. But, wow.

:)

funman 12-06-2008 12:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by binaryhermit (Post 305719)
Some observations: The default theme could use a bit of tweaking due to the line between the yellow part of the screen and the blue part of the screen. Resume is buggy. Seeking is buggy. It randomly crashes. It'd be nice if you could add the bootloader to OF version 1.1.30. Basically, they're right when they say "don't try this at home"

I noticed the theme problem, you can change that in .rockbox/wps/cabbiev2.128x64x1.wps by changing the 2 first |6| to |8| so it's aligned on the blue/yellow separation. (still not in svn because other models use the screen resolution and same file)

about resume/seek/crash you should patch your build with FS#9332 : i use that and i only have some little skips but no crashes

and finally you can patch any firmware you want (the mkamsboot program has a list of known OF and will print a warning if you have an untested one, be very careful because untested firmwares could brick your player), myself i use the 1.1.30 and have no problems with it

Note that there is still a lot of work to do on this port, so if you can code, feel free to propose your help (especially I find the current keymap a lot buggy, and it's easy to fix I think even for non programmers)

sansaguy 12-07-2008 04:31 PM

Quote:

Note that there is still a lot of work to do on this port, so if you can code, feel free to propose your help (especially I find the current keymap a lot buggy, and it's easy to fix I think even for non programmers)
so funman, I know this is kinda putting you on the spot but in your best estimation how long before there's a version stable enough for the general public to use....6 months??...:rolleyes:

funman 12-07-2008 07:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sansaguy (Post 306352)
so funman, I know this is kinda putting you on the spot but in your best estimation how long before there's a version stable enough for the general public to use....6 months??...:rolleyes:

can't tell really, i'm as much impatient as you, but it will be stable enough for public use when:

1/ missing code is written (recording, FM, >2GB internal storage, USB)
2/ written code is debugged
3/ manual is written
4/ use brain so most of the screens do not look weird on the blue/yellow screen ;)
5/ testing is made, above steps are repeated

Sorry guys but I can't estimate any of these points, of course it will go quicker if new programmers hear about the effort and join the course ..

binaryhermit 12-08-2008 09:25 PM

Well, after applying the "read audio data directly from flash" patch, this thing's quite a bit more stable. Still needs some work on resuming/seeking, but at least it doesn't crash if you look at it funny and is somewhat usable.
Seems there's also room for battery life optimization (like fixing whatever caused the CPU to not get stuck at 248 MHz).
About the clip getting officially supported, it certainly won't happen in 3.1 (freezing tomorrow?). I think one of the developers said it'd probably happen in 3.2 (March?) or 3.3 (June?). On the other hand, the Gigabeat S got sound just over 7 months ago and still isn't supported.

dfkt 12-10-2008 07:57 AM

http://anythingbutipod.com/images/fo...100074-640.jpg

samueljesusfreak 12-10-2008 09:45 AM

Ahh Stop!! I don't even have my clip, nor have I used one, but you make me want a rockbox build right away!! If it comes out before my Clip comes in the mail(It was supposed to be here yesterday), I might just stick Rockbox on there and stay with it. I'm sure it's got a while before it's nearly stable, but yeah. Imagine kicking on the mpeg plugin on this beast! I've never seen a clip start on fire!! :P

dfkt 12-10-2008 09:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by samueljesusfreak (Post 307252)
Imagine kicking on the mpeg plugin on this beast! I've never seen a clip start on fire!! :P

Well, from what I heard the Clip's CPU should be quite overpowered/underused for what it does in this tiny player... it should handle video, Doom[tm], and other shenanigans, more or less. It's the same as the Fuze, anyway. Of course the Clip's screen might be a minor drawback there... ;)

samueljesusfreak 12-10-2008 10:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dfkt (Post 307255)
Well, from what I heard the Clip's CPU should be quite overpowered/underused for what it does in this tiny player... it should handle video, Doom[tm], and other shenanigans, more or less. It's the same as the Fuze, anyway. Of course the Clip's screen might be a minor drawback there... ;)

Hmm.. after Rockbox possibly becomes a stable port, how hard do you think porting a 2-color tetris game played with the clip on it's side? Could happen. In the future. Farrr future. All I care about right now is gapless and advanced EQ. My ultra-high end JVC HA-FX34 require only the best, you know. :p

dfkt 12-10-2008 10:04 AM

There's already a lot of games on the Clip. All that are in the Rockbox plugin index except Doom, GB/GBC emu, etc. - for obvious reasons. Tetris is called Rockblox for copyright reasons.

samueljesusfreak 12-10-2008 10:08 AM

Yeah I know but those adjust to the resolution and colors? Sorry I don't know much about the super-inner workings of Rockbox. I really wish I could, though. Have you tried the breakout clone that's on there? I forget the name, and the rockbox page is blocked on my school's connection. >.<

saratoga 12-10-2008 10:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by samueljesusfreak (Post 307268)
Yeah I know but those adjust to the resolution and colors? Sorry I don't know much about the super-inner workings of Rockbox. I really wish I could, though. Have you tried the breakout clone that's on there? I forget the name, and the rockbox page is blocked on my school's connection. >.<

Most work on other greyscale and monochrome targets, so they should work on the clip eventually, though buttons and resolution may require tweaking.

samueljesusfreak 12-10-2008 10:24 AM

That's awesome. If I get to play breakout on my Clip once this is out, my life will be COMPLETE.

kredig 12-10-2008 12:01 PM

this is really interesting. i hope the development will turn out positive for the clip. it would make the clip even more attractive when the rockbox would actually work almost bug-free.
i am really looking forward to this project. hopefully i won't need that much time for a public release

samueljesusfreak 12-10-2008 12:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kredig (Post 307305)
this is really interesting. i hope the development will turn out positive for the clip. it would make the clip even more attractive when the rockbox would actually work almost bug-free.
i am really looking forward to this project. hopefully i won't need that much time for a public release

Hopefully. I'm still lost on the whole V1,V2 thing, but I don't see anything on this board that really explains it much.

All i know is that there is no recovery mode(yet. we should ask sansa to put one in the firmware release, unless its not part of the firmware, which it probably isn't).

Just make it reallyreallyreally stable when you patch it! :P

saratoga 12-10-2008 03:25 PM

No one has opened a V2, so no one knows what they are.

sansaguy 12-10-2008 04:32 PM

geez...forget Santa...I want Rockbox on my Fuze!! :D

h1a8 12-10-2008 06:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dfkt (Post 303932)
http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php?...9972#msg139972

Now I can (almost) die happy...

The port is not functional yet - please don't ask where to get it, how to install it, etc.

Where can I download the latest rockbox for clip and how do I install it?
Thanks!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.